Homeschool – First Week In The Books

We survived the first week of homeschooling.  I deserve some chocolate. Good chocolate.  Like Ghirardelli. Like Ghirardelli I don’t have to share with anyone else.  Yummmm . . .  Oh, yeah, what was I saying?  Homeschooling.  Yeah, we made it through the first week.

And we didn’t just survive the first week; we had a great week!  Sure, we had our moments — this one hates handwriting, that one hates algebra, this one wants to play computer games instead of reading a book, and that one misses his friends in school.  They acted crazy during our Bible lesson, and I yelled (you know, nothing promotes a love of studying scripture like a crazy, screaming mother).  But, in spite of the yelling during Bible lessons, I’m calling the first week a success!

Since my first child started kindergarten eight years ago, I have been an on-again, off-again homeschooler.  But this is the first time I’ve homeschooled all SIX of them at once.  Though there’s still some tweaking to do, I think we’ve found a daily schedule that works for us.  And as long as I can maintain the self-discipline to stick to the schedule and my daily lesson plans, I think we’ll be golden.

I’ve learned that there are advantages and disadvantages to homeschooling and advantages and disadvantages to having my kids in a school.  But I had sort of forgotten some of the things I absolutely love about homeschooling.  This week, it has been fun to rediscover the things I love.

I love doing The Story of the World history together as a family.

I love that my children are becoming each other’s best friends again.  Would you look at those two brothers?!  LOVE that!

Even though I’m not a math person,  AT ALL,  I love doing algebra with this teenager.  I love having her around all day – and not just because she vacuums the dining room and makes chocolate chip muffins for a mid-morning snack.

I love getting hugs from this second grader in the middle of math and letting him play computer games when he finishes his schoolwork.

I had forgotten how many hours of enjoyment cardboard boxes bring to children!  Textbooks come in cardboard boxes.  We had A LOT of cardboard boxes.  I have loved watching this kindergarten boy cut and draw and tape, making houses for stuffed animals and boats for pirates.  I love that he labeled one box for a naughty stuffed pig – “EVUL PIG,” spelling it all on his own.

I love spontaneous games of Monopoly after they finish their bookwork.  I love that they can wear whatever they want — pajamas, costumes, the jeans I won’t let them wear in public, whatever.  I love that they work at their own pace; and when they finish a subject, they can go on to the next one or play Monopoly or Boggle.  Have I mentioned that I love how my children are rediscovering their friendship with each other?

I love that we don’t have homework consuming our evenings.  I love that I sit around the table sipping coffee with my daughters discussing To Kill A Mockingbird.  I love that I am teaching my kindergarten son how to read, that I get the joy of watching his face light up when he gets everything on his math worksheet correct.  I love that my second grader will remember that Momma taught him how to write in cursive.  I love that I chose the textbooks and curriculum that I thought suits each child well.

It’s very likely we will enroll our children in school again, maybe, probably even next year.  But for now, I am enjoying all the blessings of homeschooling.

Even when it’s a little bit messy and chaotic.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Homeschool – First Week In The Books

  1. Gmama

    The picture of Griffin with the cardboard and scissors brought back so many memories. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

