Grace

I have fallen in love with the book of Isaiah!  Grace and mercy are woven throughout this whole book of the Bible.  Yes, God is pretty stern & pronouncing judgment in here; but in the midst of that shines His grace and kindness.

This morning I read from chapter 46 “Listen to me, you stubborn-hearted, you who are far from righteousness.  I am bringing my righteousness near, it is not far away; and my salvation will not be delayed.”

As I read that verse, it struck me.  This is the difference between the God I know and the gods of so many other religions!  Other religions require people to be good enough to earn their righteousness.  Other religions require people to do enough good things to earn their way to God.  My God knows that I am stubborn and stupid and far from righteousness, and so He brings His righteousness to me!

My heart is bursting with thankfulness.  My God knows how rebellious I am; He knows how stubborn I am; He knows how awful I am.  My God knows that if I had to get to righteousness on my own, I’d be in deep trouble.  Cause there’s no way I could figure out how to work my way to His righteousness.  And even if I figured out how, I’m not self-disciplined enough and good enough to actually do it!  My God knows this about me.

He knows all about me.  And yet He loves me.  So He brings His righteousness to me.

There it is — God’s grace and kindness smack in the middle of Isaiah in the Old Testament.

And today my heart is full.  My God is so good.  There is no other like Him.  He did for me what I could never do for myself.

And He did it for you too.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Grace

  1. Lana

    Oh joy! You have such a wonderful way with words, Jennifer. Now, my heart is full, too. Thank you.

  2. Shannon

    I love that we are doing this Isaiah study “together.” And I love that God is not content to leave me in my selfish, rebellious state. He loves, pursues, and disciplines me the same way He does His blessed Israel. Praise God for giving me what I don’t deserve! Miss you!

Leave a Reply

