A Little Bit Country

So I’ve been listening to country music lately.  It’s fall, and I’ve got fake orange and red and yellow leaves around my living room.  And I’ve got pumpkin spice and apple cinnamon candles around everywhere.  And we made caramel apples last weekend.  And it just seems like country music goes with autumn.

My husband says that doesn’t make sense.  But for some reason, the soundtrack to life right now just feels a little bit country.

I’ve been playing a country radio station in the car because we don’t have a lot of country music on our iTunes.  We have a lot of Dwight Yokum and Vince Gill and some Johnny Cash, but not much more than that.  So I’ve been listening to the radio in the car and at home, I listen to a country station I made on Pandora.  And if I have a kid with me in the car, I sometimes have to turn off the radio if certain songs come on because I don’t want them singing about their a*# in the sand or about how they’re pretty good at drinkin’ beer.  (Actually, I let that drinkin’ beer song keep playing because we get a kick out of it. I just hope they don’t start singing it at our little mission school.)

And just the other day, I sweet-talked my husband into using one of his iTunes gift cards to download Darius Rucker’s albums.  That Hootie sure can sing country!

The other morning, I was listening to country music and folding laundry and Griffin, my five-year-old, was pulling all the arms off his LEGO people (and was then going to ask me to put arms back on all the LEGO people — which is clearly becoming one of the main things I do with my time now).  Anyway, Griffin looked up and said, “This is farm music.  This is the kind of music people on farms listen to.”  Then he gave a long discourse on farms and fields of soft, green grass and how farms are the perfect places to have picnics.

So that’s how I’ve been feeling lately — a little bit country.  How about you?  Do you think country music goes with autumn?

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go sniffle my way through listening to that song Darius Rucker wrote about thankin’ his momma.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Little Bit Country

  1. Patrick

    Willie! Along with Dwight and Vince you left out Willie!

Leave a Reply

