Got Your Grammar Geek On?

Ever wonder if you’re a little bit too obsessed with good grammar?

As I was reviewing subjects and predicates with my third grader today and feeling especially giddy, the following thought meandered across my brain, “It’s probably not normal to be this ecstatic that your child is picking out the nouns and verbs so easily.”

With that in mind, I’ve created this helpful little checklist.

The Top Five Signs You Are A Little Too Geeky About Grammar

5.  You mentally correct the grammatical errors of everybody with whom you have a conversation.  Yes, I know it’s completely wrong to judge when a friend tells me her son did “real good” in his soccer game, but my brain cringes when I hear it.

4.  It takes a great effort of self-control to keep from pulling out a red pen and editing the mistakes in church bulletins, play programs, and, especially, letters from teachers.

3.  Approximately 596,438 times a day you say, “‘Brang’ is not a word.”  You actually say that sentence so often, you begin to fear that is the only thing your children will remember coming from your lips.  Well, they’ll also remember, “You get what you get and you don’t throw a fit.”  This is why I have to write a blog, so my grandchildren and great-grandchildren will have proof that I really, truly had other thoughts besides the conjugation of the word “bring” and the concept of contentment.

2.  You actually post this as your Facebook status,

Conversation from my home— R: “We did good on our reports.” Me: “‘Good’ is an adjective; ‘Well’ is an adverb. So, you did well on your reports.” R: “Oh, yeah. We just had a test on that in English! And I even did good on that test!” Umm, I give up. 🙂

And the number 1 way you know you are a little too grammatically geeky,

Your 9-year-old is bopping his younger brother on the head with one of those foam swimming pool noodles, and the 4-year old screams, “You hurt me badly!”  If your immediate reaction is great joy that your preschooler used an adverb correctly, then you may need a grammar-geek-intervention.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Got Your Grammar Geek On?

  1. This makes me laugh. Thanks for sharing.

    I just went through a workshop on Saturday about the 9 intelligences. One of them is “word/literacy”. I am guessing this is one of your strengths. Bless you! It certainly is not one of mine. = )

  2. G Mama

    I would add books, fiction and non-fiction, to number four. Sentence fragments really upset me! Thanks for this “geeky” post!

  3. Oh, I am totally all over that!! I fit every category. My problem with blogging is that I am trying to keep a rather informal style to it, but sometimes I’m writing something and know that I shouldn’t end a sentence with a preposition, but it just sounds so formal to word it the right way. So, sometimes I cringe at my OWN writing!

  4. Martha

    Oh, yes…I qualify, my friend! So good to laugh at myself and know that you are laughing with me. 🙂

  5. Lana

    I’m in the boat with you. I really struggle with a missionary friend, who I know is helping the “locals” learn English. Should I correct her? I somehow never get the courage. (I hope there are no grammatical errors in this post. :))

  6. hello there and thanks on your information ? I’ve definitely picked up something new from proper here. I did on the other hand expertise several technical points the usage of this web site, since I experienced to reload the site lots of occasions previous to I may just get it to load correctly. I have been brooding about in case your web host is OK? No longer that I’m complaining, however slow loading circumstances occasions will often have an effect on your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you update this again soon..

Leave a Reply

