Do I Agree With This Quote Or Not?

So I’ve seen this quote floating around Facebook lately.  It sounds so inspirational, so motivational, as if it needs its own crescendo of background music.  But then I start thinking about it, and I can’t decide if I agree with it or not.

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma- which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”

First, the English major/grammar snob in me MUST point out that it should read, “And most importantLY, have the courage . . . ”

Phew, now that that’s out of the way, I can get back to the gist of the quote.

Ok, I agree with the part about time being limited & the idea that we shouldn’t waste our lives.  I think it’s good to follow our own dreams and be ourselves.  I want to be true to myself, genuine, and not feel like I need to live out somebody else’s dreams and expectations.

I had to read that part about being trapped by dogma a few times.  I guess we shouldn’t be too concerned with other people’s thinking.  But what about listening to wise counsel?  If every wise, respectable, godly person in my life advises me against something, should I still listen to my inner voice?  I know my inner voice and sometimes it’s pretty self-absorbed and short-sighted.

Which brings me to that last idea about following my heart and intuition.  Sometimes my heart and intuition will be on the right track.  But sometimes my heart, my emotions, don’t lead me very well.  Sometimes my heart really, really, really wants something that’s probably not best for me.  OK, something that is definitely not best for me.

The Bible says in Jeremiah that the heart is deceitful above all things and desperately wicked. So should I follow that?

See, sometimes my heart and my intuition pull me in one direction that is not the same direction the Lord is leading me.  Sometimes my heart and intuition push me to give up when what I feel called to is too difficult.  So I’m not always sure I can trust my heart and intuition because they may know what I truly want to become, but do they know what my Father has planned for me?

What do you think?  Do you agree with this quote?  Do I think too much?  What background music played in your mind when you read it?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Do I Agree With This Quote Or Not?

  1. Lana

    I agree with you, Jennifer. My heart definitely leads me in the wrong direction many times. I am thankful to be grounded in scripture at this stage in my life. (That would have definitely been more helpful in my youth, when I made some unwise decisions based on my heart and not my head.) Oh, you don’t think too much, and I didn’t hear any music.

  2. Martha

    OK, so I’m catching up on MyDerbe posts…embarrassed to say so. And then you mentioned music playing in my head after this quote and post…

    It’s Rich Mullins

    “…they said, ‘Boy, you just follow your heart,’
    but my heart just led me into my chest
    And they said, ‘Follow your nose,’ the direction changed every time I went and turned my head
    And they said, ‘Boy, you just follow your dreams’
    But my dreams were only misty notions

    But the Father of hearts
    And the Maker of noses
    And the Giver of dreams
    He’s the One I’ve chosen
    And I will follow Him…”

    –from “Maker of Noses”

  3. Martha, thank you. Excellent song. 🙂

Leave a Reply

