Marshmallow Roasting, Rock Hopping, and Soccer Playing

What have I been doing this week?  I’m so glad you asked!  

Instead of blogging, I have been playing with my kids — soccer, badminton, ladder ball, catching a little ball in those plastic things that look like giant scoops.  Yep, I’ve been doing all of those things.  I’m not particularly good at any of them, but my kids don’t care.  

I also went on a picnic with my parents, my brother and his family, my husband, and all my children.  We ate and then did an easy hike on a curvy trail that went under a giant rock.  It was cool.  I took pictures with my mom’s camera, but I haven’t put them on my computer yet.  They’re good pictures, though.  You’ll have to take my word for it.  

After we did the easy hike, we walked down by the river.  It was too tempting, so we let the kids put their swimsuits on and play.  They rock-hopped up the river a little ways and splashed their way back down.  My youngest didn’t do that; he just dug in the nasty sand with my little niece.  They acted like they were playing in the white sand of an exotic beach, but they were digging in dirty brown muddy sand on a riverbank in West Virginia, which is -in some ways- better than the white beaches of an exotic beach.  

I did not have a swimsuit, but I did do a little rock hopping with my clothes on (you’re probably relieved I added that part).  Then I decided that I wouldn’t go back the long way on the rocks, but I would just wade across the river to the bank where my family waited.  Either I’m shorter than I realized or the water was deeper than I realized, but let’s just say I had to change shorts and my 6-year-old was screaming, “You wet your pants!” at the top of his lungs.  Fortunately, nobody got pictures of that on Mom’s camera.  

We have also roasted more marshmallows and eaten more hot dogs.  I’m pretty sure we’ve consumed our yearly allowance of processed meats in the past two weeks.  But boy, have they been some tasty hot dogs!  And maybe there is some rule that processed meats eaten with second-cousins-once-removed don’t count.  Maybe.  

We also sneaked in a little geocaching this evening while learning some local history.  And my 9-year-old realized how thankful she is for indoor plumbing when she examined an outhouse and turned down the opportunity to use it.  

So, that’s why I haven’t been blogging.  Cause if I have to choose between s’mores and blogging, I’m choosing s’mores every time.  

What have you been doing this week?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Marshmallow Roasting, Rock Hopping, and Soccer Playing

  1. wow, amazing family. I wanna be your family

Leave a Reply

