Still Swimming

The water is warming up.  I’d say it’s at least 70 degrees now.  This morning it was pretty breezy outside, so the water was warmer than the air.  

It’s getting light earlier too.  We probably only swim in the semi-dark for ten minutes now.  So much for all the benefits of swimming in the dark!

Now that it’s warming up, another lady has joined us.  So there are three of us.  She’s like a real swimmer, flipping under as she turns a lap just like Olympic swimmers do.  She can swim 44 laps.  I’m so happy when I do double-digits.  Really, she swims 4 times faster than I do!  (But I probably make better cookies than she does! 🙂 )

I am forcing myself to focus on why I’m out there rather than comparing myself to the others.  I’m moving.  I’m getting exercise.  I’m stepping out of my comfort zone.  It’s a huge deal for me to just be awake and in the pool each morning at 6:00.  Forget 44 laps.  Yay, me!  

While the three of us moms were swimming this morning, two teenage girls came down to swim a little.  As they stood on the side of the pool and contemplated the logistics of getting in the pool while the three of us were swimming laps, I giggled to myself.  I was thinking about what would be running through the minds of these two teenagers as they watched the three of us.  At 35, I’m the youngest of the three.  None of us wears what you’d call cute swimsuits.  Julie wears a big pair of flippers to help build her leg muscles while she swims.  Lori wears those bug-eyed goggles because she swims with her face in the water.  And I wear a bright blue swim cap to keep my body heat in and to keep my long hair from getting all in my face or tickling my neck and making me think bugs or lizards are crawling on me.  Let’s just say the three of us are not exactly the picture of cool in the pool at 6:00 in the morning.  

Anyway, as I saw us from the viewpoint of teenagers, it gave me a good chuckle.  So I giggled to myself as I splashed away the beetle that greeted me at the far end of the pool each lap and turned to slow-motion swim back to the shallow end. 

And as I ended another single-digit lap, I reminded myself that slow-motion swimming is better than no swimming at all.  Undoubtedly, I will never swim as well as Julie and Lori.  But I am swimming better than I was a month ago.  Who knows, I may even invest in my own pair of flippers.  

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Still Swimming

Leave a Reply

