Do Not Stop And Smell The Markers

I am convinced many school officials have lost all common sense. This story solidifies it.

This third grade boy got marker on his shirt and sniffed it. His teacher automatically thought he was trying to get high and told him to stop. He did not stop. So he was sent to the principal and suspended for three days.

Is it even possible to get high from sniffing clothing that has been colored with a marker? Does the teacher realize that some markers are scented — like blueberry or strawberry or cotton candy? Have the teacher and principal interacted with third grade boys before?

Where is the common sense? After the father spoke with the principal, the little boy’s suspension was reduced to only one day. But the principal insists he did not overreact, that the punishment was appropriate. He insists that the school must send a message to other students about the dangers of sniffing a swipe of marker on a shirt. “This is a real true danger,” he said.

Yeah, I’m thinking common sense has gone out the window.

9 Comments

Filed under opinion, parenting, school

9 responses to “Do Not Stop And Smell The Markers

  1. If I ever question Bookmarking you post and that article for the next time I get the overwhelming desire to stop homeschooling and put my kids on the bus.

    Yikes.

    Sad to say…before kids…in my “nobody should homeschool” days…in my I, as teacher, know better than you, being parent days…I kinda, sorta, “got” and even believed/followed through with such “logic.”

    E-gads!

  2. Wow – That comment was a mess — SHOULD READ:

    I’m bookmarking your post and that article for the next time I get the overwhelming desire to stop homeschooling and put my kids on the bus.

    Yikes.

    Sad to say…before kids…in my “nobody should homeschool” days…in my I, as teacher, know better than you, being parent days…I kinda, sorta, “got” and even believed/followed through with such “logic.”

    E-gads!

  3. If kids really do get high from smelling marker on clothes or skin, then maybe that explains the bizarre behavior of my 3 year old. He never colors on paper. He always colors his face, his hands, his clothes. Yesterday, he looked up from his picture and smiled at me with this enormous clown mouth — red and purple. Maybe that’s why he cried when I made them put the markers away for dinner. He was afraid of going into withdrawal.

  4. Kari, I understood totally what you meant. 🙂

    I think every homeschooler needs a folder of stories like this to pull out on the hard days.

  5. funnier if it weren’t true… you gotta wonder…

  6. Thinking about what you said about your three-year-old.

    Whoa.

    That could explain *a lot* about my girls.

  7. ha ha ha We may be onto something. All of our children are high.

  8. While this story did make me laugh, I also find it very sad.

    “Don’t sniff a little line drawn with a marker, children, but here, take this c0nd0m and have yourself some fun.”

    Yeah, common sense has left the building.

Leave a Reply

