Do you get it?

My son Jackson will turn 4 next month. Today, he and I had this conversation.

Momma: My necklace has a cross on it. What does that remind you of? Who died on a cross?

Jackson: God and Jesus died on a cross. (big smile) Because God and Jesus are the same person.

Momma: That’s right, Jackson. Jesus is God.

Jackson: Yes, Jesus is God.

Momma: Did Jesus stay dead after He died on the cross?

Jackson: NO! He did not stay dead. He came back to life. He raised Himself back to life. He did it Himself.

Momma: That’s right, Jackson. Good. Jesus did bring Himself back to life. And He’s alive now.

Jackson: Yes. Jesus is alive.

He’s not even 4 yet, and he gets it.

8 Comments

Filed under Christ, religion

8 responses to “Do you get it?

  1. I had a similar conversation with Jackson’s birthday buddy. πŸ™‚

  2. I miss Jackson’s birthday buddy. And the rest of you all too. πŸ™‚

  3. By the way, as Jackson told me that Jesus brought Himself back from the dead, he had the neatest sound of awe and amazement and wow-ness to his voice and the greatest look on his face. I am pretty sure Jackson thinks Jesus is like the most super of all the super-heroes.

  4. Lucinda

    “I’m a SuperHero flying around, no need to worry, you’re safe and sound. Battling evil Fighting for good. ” This should be sung and not read, but I hope that you get the idea. I mentioned you today at MOPS. The subject was forgiveness. Stacey G. mentioned a lesson from BSF, dealing with the prince asking Jesus what he needed to do to follow him. I suggested that Stacey read your blog. I will be passing along the address for her to read the thoughts that were stated here. I am thinking of you and the family. Hope that you are having a super special spring!

  5. I heard a story yesterday of a man who went to pray with a three year old friend about a missionary who needed a new horse because the one he had died. The man prayed his “adult” prayer, and then the three year old prayed “God, horsie, Amen!”

    You are right, they get it. Why do we make it so complicated? Lord, teach us to be like the children!

  6. I love that. God. Horsie. Amen.

    So simple. πŸ™‚

  7. tom

    Amen Jackson. Tell it brother.

    Tom

  8. Aidan talks about Jackson (“Jack”) ALL the time anymore. πŸ™‚ We really miss you all too. Love you!!!

Leave a Reply

