Please tell me this has happened to you

This afternoon, Caleb broke a rule and had to spend some time on his bed. I set the timer so I would remember to let him get up. I was washing dishes and helping with homework and sort of supervising children in the hall and answering the phone and talking to my youngest about his zebras and dinosaurs. He was only on his bed for five minutes. The timer went off, and I called out, “Caleb, please come here.”

When he came to me, I smiled and said, “What did you do that was not a good choice?” And inside, I was saying to myself, Please, please know what you did because, for the life of me, I sure cannot remember.

He remembered. Whew.

Please tell me you also sometimes forget why you put your children in time-out.

At least, I did set the timer so I remembered to allow him to get out of time-out.

22 Comments

Filed under motherhood, parenting

22 responses to “Please tell me this has happened to you

  1. All the time. Allllllll. The. Time.

  2. I have to write down on a white board that I sent one of the girls to time out. Then I set it near the timer so when the timer goes off, I remember why!

    I am *so* glad to know I am not alone.

    This post and Holly’s question about baths just made this mama feel *tons* better this week!

  3. Yay! I’m not the only one! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I can’t remember if this happens to me or not. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. i don’t know if i have ever done that ith my kids…but i HAVE given my WIFE the “silent treatment” long enough to forget why i was mad in the first place…..

    it’s probably best anyway…cause i’m sure, whatever it was, she was right about it.

  6. smart man, charlie
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Tom

    I was going to respond to this blog, but by the time I read the comments everyone posted, I’d forgotten what the blog was about. (Brrrrriiiiinnnnnggggggg!) Oh, there goes the alarm, my time-out is over now, so I’ll catch all of you later.

    Tom

  8. very funny ๐Ÿ™‚

    ha ha ha ha

  9. The funny thing would if you didn’t hear the timer and they end up asleep in their bed, which is the last place you would look for them…especially a boy.

    But a timer…good idea…whoops! We learn something new everyday!

  10. Yes, I’ve done that several times. Once I put him in time-out before I took a shower, and when I came out, he was still sitting there.

    I think it was a long shower, too.I’m pretty sure I actually shaved my legs and not just the pathetic “shave up to the knees” job. I may have even washed with soap instead of hoping the shampoo trailing from my head would have done the job.

  11. Buzz

    I just learned way too much about how girls shave their legs.

    Buzz

  12. My! I bet you never guessed the comment thread would go in this direction when you posted your original story. Too funny ~

  13. Tom

    I think we all deserve a time-out for taking this too far afield, but who has the timer?

    Tom

  14. Tom

    This has nothing to do with my children, but once I came home after work and found my dog had “done her business” on the dinning room rug. As was my habit, I put her beside it, told her to stay and then cleaned it up. I usually released her by saying the command “Okay”. Well, after cleaning the mess up, my wife called from work and talked to me for a long time. It wasn’t until she said “see you in a bit” and I responded “Okay” to her that my sweet dog came bounding into the next room having finally heard the “magic word”. It must have been close to an hour that she lay in the dinning room floor. I felt sooooo bad, but at least I wasnโ€™t shaving anything.

    Tom

  15. morethananelectrician, I actually have had a child fall asleep in time-out. It was just before dinner, and my husband put him on his bed to calm down from a huge temper tantrum. He was only there for about 3 or 4 minutes, but he fell asleep. (Which might explain the temper tantrum! He was exhausted!)

  16. Eileen, I am so impressed that your child stayed in time-out while you took a shower. Once while I was in the shower, one of my sons mixed together eggs and water and a bunch of other stuff in some sort of cooking experiment. I caught him mixing it when I walked out of the bathroom. And when I told him it would be gross to eat and could make him sick, he looked at me with this duh! look on his face and said, “Yeah, that’s why I was going to cook it in the microwave.”

  17. Shaving isn’t that bad.

  18. Julie, I never imagined.

    Tom, that’s some dog!

    I’m not even sure what to say about the shaving. LOL

    Thanks for all your comments. ๐Ÿ™‚ I needed the humor.

  19. Lucinda

    Here is another example of one of those moments. Has anyone ever dialed the phone and gotten distracted while it was ringing and when the person answered you could not remember who you were phoning in the first place and called the person by the wrong name? Well, I have and it is very embarassing! I guess I should write down on that white board the name of the person that I am phoning so my old age does not play tricks on me.

  20. Tom

    Lucinda,
    I’ve done that. I’m glad to know I’m not alone.

    Tom

Leave a Reply

