Granola Bars

We’ve been sick with bad colds, and I haven’t had a lot of time for writing. I am not abandoning this blog. I promise. I don’t have the brainpower to write a thoughtful post right now, but I thought I’d share a recipe with you. This is an adaptation of a recipe from the Quaker Oats web-site. It gets good reviews from my 3 year old and 2 year old. And it sure is a whole lot cheaper than buying granola bars for the older children to take to school.

3 1/2 cups Quick Quaker Oats

2/3 cups butter or margarine, melted

1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1 egg, beaten

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup honey

1/2 cup flaked or shredded coconut

1 cup chopped nuts

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup miniature baking M&Ms (or if you don’t add these in, 1 whole cup chocolate chips)

** You could add in raisins or other dried fruit instead of chocolate chips, if you want the bars to be healthier. Or you can play around and add in peanut butter and more chopped peanuts and maybe a little less margarine.

After you mix all the ingredients well, press firmly into a well-greased 15 1/2 X 10 1/2 inch pan. Bake in 350ยบ oven for 20 minutes. Cool thoroughly and then cut into bars. Store in tightly-covered container in a cool, dry place or in the fridge.

I wrapped each bar individually in plastic wrap because I knew my children would be taking them to school. Then I put all the wrapped bars in a large plastic Ziploc and put it in the fridge.

I used my Kitchenaid mixer to mix the ingredients, and it took less than 10 minutes to mix it all up and press it into the pan. So it really is easy.

6 Comments

Filed under food, recipe

6 responses to “Granola Bars

  1. Patrick

    As easy as these are to make, they are a lot easier to eat. Yummy!

  2. I am going to try these. I love your blog. All the time and effort you putinto it!

  3. Thanks.

    I often do my blogging at night after the children are in bed (and post right away or time-stamp them for later). Or I keep my laptop on the kitchen counter and post a little here and there when I get a minute during the day.

    I usually have my Bible and Bible study on the kitchen table or right nearby so I can catch snippets of time for that during the day as well. Some days, I’ll have a whole block of time; but other days, I have 5 min. here and 10 min. there.

  4. Not that you asked about that at all. ๐Ÿ™‚ Just thought I’d share.

  5. Hey Jennifer, Hope you guys are doing great! I made these granola bars today and they were great except that they were very crumbly and fell apart easy. Did I do something wrong?

  6. Lindsay, it’s really funny because I have not had a pan of granola bars turn out the same. I guess I should have made them several times before posting this recipe. ๐Ÿ™‚ The first time I made them, the most perfect they were. Twice now, they’ve been crumbly and won’t stay together. I can’t decide if it’s because I didn’t bake them long enough or if I baked them too long. (Shannon, expert cook, can you give advice?)

    Of course, my ingredients are never exactly the same. Maybe I should strictly follow the recipe and measure everything.

    Maybe more honey would hold them together. Maybe beating the egg is important. I think I forgot to beat it before adding it last time, and they were falling apart.

    The good thing is — with these granola bars, even if you have to eat them with a spoon, they are delicious! ๐Ÿ™‚ hee hee

Leave a Reply

