What’s For Dinner?

What’s for dinner? Please tell us about your favorite meals.We love rotisserie chicken. Our favorite is the cajun-flavored chicken. I like serving it with white rice and roasted vegetables. It’s a very easy meal. I put a little olive oil in the bottom of the enamel roasting pan and then toss in some chopped veggies — zucchini, yellow squash, red peppers, green peppers, red onions, red-skinned potatoes, carrots, celery, whatever you love. I sprinkle salt and pepper over the veggies and roast them at 375º for a couple hours. You can also roast them for a longer time at a lower temperature. It’s delicious and easy.We also love my friend Wendy’s Excellent Chicken recipe. Mix some melted margarine, thyme, rosemary, oregano, and parmesan cheese together with super fine bread crumbs. I just sort of wing it on the amounts. I put boneless, skinless chicken breasts in a casserole dish and sprinkle the mixture over it. Then I bake it at 350º for 30 or 40 minutes. We love having this with spaghetti noodles that have been mixed in with more of the same seasonings — margarine, thyme, rosemary, oregano, and parmesan cheese. Add in a big salad and some yummy bread, and you have a delicious meal. So, how about you? What’s for dinner?

9 Comments

Filed under food, motherhood, recipe

9 responses to “What’s For Dinner?

  1. Our favorite dinners are (I’ll probably list main dishes for the most part):

    Poppy seed chicken (I use Shannon Koene’s recipe for cream of chicken soup base instead of the canned and it tastes very yummy!)

    Homemade macaroni and cheese with pork chops rubbed with some sort of spice and broccoli

    Chicken and Andouille gumbo with rice

    my friend Lisa’s creamy chicken soup or her potato bacon soup–yum!

    Pizza

    salmon

    steak with sauteed onions served with roasted potatoes and/or garlic-parmesan bread and salad

    this is just naming a few of our favorites–there are MANY more. 🙂

  2. Tonight, it’s leftovers again here. I think the leftovers are reproducing in our fridge. And I know I should be thankful because it’s helping the grocery budget. But I think I’m leaning toward the Israelites’ attitude about manna.

  3. I like anything that I don’t have to cook or clean up after. =) Seriously.

  4. Shannon K

    How funny! We love Wendy’s Excellent Chicken recipe as well. My other favorite way to make chicken is to pound chicken breasts flat, brush them with extra virgin olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper and grill them. It couldn’t be easier and is definitely Bryan’s favorite way to eat chicken (even the kids eat this). I always make extra so we can eat it cold atop a salad on another day.

    I also like to make cod or tilapia using this recipe from Cooking Light – http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1646384

    Pizza from scratch has also become a staple using the California Pizza Kitchen pizza dough recipe

    And finally, we all like to eat split pea soup (which shocks me since it is green and the kids actually will eat it).

    For veggies, I cook carrots and then make a glaze using 1T. butter, 1T. maple syrup and about 1/8-1/4 tsp. ginger. They are awesome.

    And the only way Bryan likes to eat summer squash and zucchini is if I skewer chucks of them with onion, brush with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper and grill. (Do you notice a pattern? Basically, anything coated with olive oil, salt and pepper and grilled is going to taste good, right?) We also like asparagus this way.

  5. An old standby I use quite often around here is a baked potato topped with cooked, chopped broccoli, a good canned chili and shredded cheddar cheese topped with a dallop of sour cream. It is actually very pretty and easy to clean up when you use paper plates! My kids love this and don’t complain about the broccoli since it is chopped small and mixed in with everything else.

  6. Nickole

    We are big on comfort food here, especially in the winter. Anything in a crockpot gets devoured! Baked mac&cheese (with cauliflour puree- shhh! don’t tell!); chicken, rice, and peas; spaghetti w/ meatballs; and chicken pot pie round out our top favorites.

  7. Tonight, I think it will be taco pie. I used to make it with canned crescent rolls, but in the interest of sticking to our tight budget, I now use a Bisquick mix.

    I know that my style of no-real-recipe probably drives some of you nuts. I’m sorry. 🙂 But I’m thinking it might be helpful to somebody to see that you can play with a recipe and make it work for you.

    I look at the Bisquick box and loosely use the recipe for the cheesburger pie as a guide. It’s basically 1/2 cup Bisquick, 1 cup milk, and 2 eggs — but I think I use more like 1 cup Bisquick, 1 1/3 – 1 1/2 cups milk, and 2 eggs. It works this way. 🙂 And I add about a third of a packet of taco seasoning to this mixture and mix well.

    I brown and drain ground beef and add a packet of taco seasoning. Then I spray a 9 x 12 glass casserole dish with Pam and dump in the taco meat. I sprinkle on fiesta-blend cheese. Then I pour on this Bisquick mixture (it’s pretty liquid-y).

    Then I bake it at 350º for 30 minutes or until the bread is not doughy.

    It’s really yummy. I serve it with chopped tomatoes, lettuce, and sour cream. And sometimes we have other raw vegetables on the side.

    I’ve even thought that cornbread on top, instead of the Bisquick mix, might be yummy.

  8. Oh, and Nickole, the recipe for the day at Bisquick’s website is a slow cooker hot fudge sundae cake. Now, that’s my kind of crock pot meal!

  9. Julie

    Here is my family’s favorite Chicken Pot Pie Recipe. It is quick and easy, and you can go low fat if you want- But we are talking comfort food here.
    1 lb of boneless/skinless chicken breasts cut into 1 inch pieces; Grilled chicken is the best for this dish
    1/4 Kraft or Wishbone Italian Dressing
    4 oz of Cream Cheese
    2 Tbsp of flour
    1/2 cup of chicken broth(you may want to add a bit more depending on the consistancy you like)
    1 package of frozen veggies (semi thawed)
    1 refrigerated pie crust
    Pre heat oven to 375. Cook chicken in dressing in large skillet on medium heat (if chicken is already cooked/grilled you only need to do this for 2 min). Add cream cheese and stir until melted. Add flour and mix well. Add broth and veggies; simmer for 5 minutes.
    Pour mixture into pie plate with crust on bottom and top. Flute edges and cut slits on top. Bake for 30 minutes.
    You can also double this recipe for larger families and cook it in a large stone dish or casserole dish.
    YUMMY we had this last night and we never have left overs :).

Leave a Reply

