Miscellaneous Monday – 1/14/08

Back by popular demand (or not) . . . Miscellaneous Monday.

Last week, my four older children began attending school. So today, I’m going to share 3 fun experiences from the first week of school.

1. During serious prayer time, some little boy in Caleb’s class prayed for “the clowns to have fun at the circus.” That little boy had to miss some recess time. Our question: “Was that little boy named Caleb?” He says no.

2. During another serious prayer time, some little boy in Caleb’s class burped really loudly. He too had to miss some recess. Again, our question: “Was that little boy named Caleb?” Again, he says no.

3. On the first day, Rachel got the class pet snake tangled in her hair. I think it will be her all-time favorite school memory. I just wish I could have been there to see it.

Now, it’s your turn. Do you have any great school memories to share?

1 Comment

Filed under life, miscellaneous, motherhood, school

One response to “Miscellaneous Monday – 1/14/08

  1. 1. School assemblies. My favorites were when the Pacific Science Center would come or when we had a travelling pioneer exhibit set up in our cafeteria/gym.

    2. I had an awesome teacher for the 3rd and 5th grades. He read to us constantly (Bambi, Where the Red Fern Grows and many others). He told us funny jokes, he would have the piano wheeled into our classroom during the Christmas season and would play Christmas carols and hymns (this is in public school!) for us to sing, he encouraged me in learning to play the piano and gave me extra exercises to go with my lessons. He took our class outside on nice days to build forts behind the school in the little wooded area…

    3. Creating our “Spiegel” catalog for my AP English class in high school that was based on fashions and decor in Ancient Greece. I still have a bunch of the photos from our toga modeling sessions. 🙂

    I have a lot of great memories from school–some of the joy of going to small schools in rural eastern Washington state.

Leave a Reply

