Something New

Happy New Year!

It’s a brand-new year, a fresh start, a clean slate. We don’t know what will happen, but God does. He has plans for this new year. He has organized and planned and prepared every detail, every little way He hopes to draw us closer to Himself. He knows every trial He will allow, every bit of suffering we will go through. He knows already, and He’s there. Isn’t it cool to be in the hands of a God not limited by time and space?

I don’t have to fear what will happen this year because my Father already knows and is already there, going before me. I don’t need to waste energy worrying. I can rest in Him, knowing that He is in charge of 2008 and everything He allows will be used for my good (Romans 8:28).

I also don’t have to waste time regretting or worrying about the mistakes I made in 2007. The past is behind me, and I don’t need to wallow in it. I was not the perfect wife or mother in 2007; I was not the best daughter for my Father. I can confess that and remember God’s own words from Isaiah 43 —

Thus says the Lord . . . “Do not remember the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I will do a new thing. Now it shall spring forth. Shall you not know it?”

The Message paraphrases that this way —

This is what God says . . . “Forget about what’s happened; don’t keep going over old history. Be alert, be present. I’m about to do something brand-new. It’s bursting out! Don’t you see it?”

God is going to do a new thing in 2008. He wants to do something new in my life. He wants me to learn new things about Him, to see Him in a new light. He wants to bring new experiences and new opportunities so that I can have a new perspective. So that I can become more like Jesus.

I’m ready to watch it burst out. Are you?

4 Comments

Filed under Bible, Christ, Christianity, faith, grace, holidays, life

4 responses to “Something New

  1. I might be wrong about this, but I think it was Oral Roberts who used to say something like, “Something good is going to happen in my life today!” And you know? It’s really true. Sometimes, however, we might be so caught up in our misfortunes, disappointments, or personal shortcomings that we don’t even recognize all the marvelous stuff going on around us. Today I’ve been thinking more about how great it is to have a warm home to live in and a dependable car to drive. Reading about the thousands of homeless in this great land of ours has caused me to reflect more on this.

  2. crystal

    I really like what you’ve said here. It reminds me alot of what our pastor has been talking about at church. I’m actually trying to find a devotional along this line to put into the MOPS newsletter–do you have any suggestions?

  3. sorry, Crystal, I don’t know of any.

Leave a Reply

