Family Game Night

Tonight is Family Game Night in our home. We The children received some fun games for Christmas, so we’re going to munch on snacks and play games.

In case you’re searching after-Christmas sales for fun games, I suggest Cranium Hullaballoo for kids. It’s a great game for preschoolers and non-readers; it’s super-easy to play and does not really require adult help. And my girls, who are 8 & 9, also have fun playing it. It does get loud, but in a fun, giggly way — not in a pounding Hungry, Hungry Hippo kind of way.

I also suggest Cranium Cadoo for elementary-school age children who can read. The instructions are also easy, and kids can figure it out with little or no help from parents. But it is also fun for parents who want to play along.

Apples to Apples Kids is also a blast. We’ve laughed a lot playing this game. Adding in the Mr. Nobody feature is even funnier.

An old favorite around here is Don’t Wake Daddy. This games makes us laugh and sometimes has had our children hiding under the table in anticipation of the daddy jumping in his bed. Very fun!

Zingo is also great fun. It’s Bingo with a zing to it. πŸ™‚ The children can also play this by themselves, which is handy when I have to actually do some work around here during the days. But I think it’s fun to play along. This is also a game non-readers can play.

Don’t Break The Ice is also a favorite of my boys. I think it plays into their delight in destroying things.

We don’t really need a special family night set aside to play games. We’ve been playing games every evening this week after dinner. And the children and I have been playing games during the day — you know, when I should be unpacking boxes and organizing this apartment. The kids are really getting into it, too. I can’t imagine where they get their competitiveness from; but the other day when 3 year old Jackson and I were playing Don’t Break the Ice, he looked up at me and, with an evil laugh, said, “You’re going to lose.”

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Family Game Night

  1. WV Grammy

    I wonder – does Jackson get that from the Abel side or the Hatcher side? “:^)

  2. crystal

    Ha! I think I remember a certain MOPS game night where you got after a certain lady about not throwing the Catch Phrase thing at me before it buzzed… πŸ˜‰

    We (er, I mean the boys) got Dancing Eggs by Haba for Christmas–talk about fun for adults and kids alike! The family also got a new game called Pile It–it’s great for teaching kids different ways to sort cards, and each round you have to change it up.

    Cranium Hullabaloo is a blast! The kids played it over at our pastor’s house with their 2 kids a couple of weeks ago. I think everyone just enjoyed shouting “Hullabaloo!”

    Glad you all are enjoying your game playing! πŸ™‚

  3. Crystal, how did I know you’d bring that up? ha ha ha I am pretty sure I was just caught up in the competitive spirit of Laura and Jennifer B. . . . Really, I’m sure it’s all their fault. πŸ™‚

    And besides, when the thing is beeping and beeping faster and faster and faster, who doesn’t pass it quickly, like a hot potato? That girl was moving in slow motion. She needed some encouragement to speed up a little. πŸ™‚

  4. crystal

    Ja. I guess we all need a little encouragement now and then. πŸ˜‰ Oh, and I’m *sure* that it was Jennifer and Laura’s fault. hahaha πŸ™‚

    You know that I love you anyways and that I always enjoy watching the competitive ones (Rob is very much like you guys–it’s funny because I’m SO not that way!!!). πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

