The Savior of the World

This morning, I was reading some verses in 1 John, and I want to share them here.

And He Himself is the propitiation for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the whole world. -2:2

In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins. Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. . . . And we have seen and testify that the Father has sent the Son as Savior of the world. — 4:10, 11, 14

If I really believe this, then I am challenged to act like I believe it. I do believe that Jesus is the Savior of the world; I believe He is the propitiation for the sins of the whole world. I believe that every person in the world should know that Jesus offers them salvation. I believe everyone in the world should have the opportunity to either accept or reject Christ.

I believe God loved the whole world so much that He sent His Son that anyone and everyone who believes can live forever with Him. So I want the whole world to know of that great love and that great offer.

This is how I want to spend my life — working to get this good news to the whole world.

2 Comments

Filed under Bible, Christ, gospel, love, missions

2 responses to “The Savior of the World

  1. “If I really believe this, then I am challenged to act like I believe it. ” Isn’t that the difficult part of this? First, we have to decide if we really believe it. Second, we have to act on it. I have been really convicted lately of my lack of obedience. If I know God’s truths from scripture I am supossed to act on them. Last week I was lead to this from Jeremiah 7:23 “but I gave them this command: Obey me, and I will be your God and you will be my people. Walk in all the ways I command you, that it may go well with you. ” So what happens if we don’t obey and walk in the ways? Will he still b our God? Does it hurt our relationship with God and others?

    Way, way, way too many questions. šŸ™‚

  2. Well, I think the point is that if He is our God, then we will obey. Because we’ll love Him and want to obey. Obviously, we’re battling with the old nature that is within us, but our new nature will want to obey. And as we grow, as the new nature gets bigger and bigger, we’ll obey more and more.

    But, yes, Sherie, it can be difficult to obey. When I’m really being filled by the Holy Spirit and renewing my mind by the Word continually, it’s not so difficult. But when I don’t do that and I’m consumed by my own flesh, then it is tough to obey. Because my Jenn-nature doesn’t always want to put others first and love others like I love myself and die to self and live for Him. Actually, the Jenn-nature NEVER wants to do those things. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

