Impacting The Whole World One Person At A Time

In recent days, we have discussed ways we can impact our family and our community, now let’s talk about how we can impact the world.

It can be overwhelming, can’t it? To think of the whole world and all the problems and all the evil. There are a lot of widows and orphans in the world, a lot of slaves, a lot of people who live in spiritual darkness and physical poverty. It’s tempting to give up before we’ve even begun. It seems like such a big job, and I know I’m not up for it.

Now for the good news! I don’t have to do the whole job. I am not even responsible for any results. I only have to be obedient to the things God calls me to. And even then, He’s going to give me everything I need to do what He calls me to. He will provide the resources. He will provide the strength and stamina and know-how. I just need to obey, to step out and follow Him and give from the abundance He showers on me.

I know there is no way I can help every poor child around the world, but I can pack one shoe box for Samaritan’s Purse. I cannot feed every hungry family, but I can buy a fishing kit for one family through World Vision’s gift catalog. I cannot rescue every person caught in slavery today, but I can collect loose change to help rescue one person from slavery and oppression. I cannot translate the Bible into every language on earth, but I can support one missionary with New Tribes Mission or I can even become a missionary with New Tribes Mission.

We can make a difference in individual lives. And when we all make a difference in individual lives, it adds up to quite a lot of impact. Add to that the children we are raising to be difference-makers in their world, because they are learning from us and our example, and God will just multiply and multiply and multiply our tiny acts of obedience. He will take care of the results.

2 Comments

Filed under Bible, Christ, Christianity, faith, gospel, International Justice Mission, love, missions, New Tribes Mission, Samaritan's Purse, Sara Groves, World Vision

2 responses to “Impacting The Whole World One Person At A Time

  1. Martha

    Excellent posts! Thank you for the big picture and for the little practical details. I love the thought of even using spare change toward God’s purposes!

    “I only have to be obedient to the things God calls me to. And even then, He’s going to give me everything I need to do what He calls me to. He will provide the resources. He will provide the strength and stamina and know-how. I just need to obey, to step out and follow Him and give from the abundance He showers on me.”
    This is such a powerful reminder to me, because I have a tendency to look at what others do and think, “Well, I need to do that…and oh, yeah, that…and well, THEY are doing that…” This is not only distraction (as you mentioned in your former post), it is NOT listening to God.

    How powerful and precious it is to realize that He has placed me in a sphere of influence that no one else in the world has. And He has prepared these good works in advance for me (Ephesians 2:10)!

    Thank you.

  2. Thanks, Martha, for your comments.

    And I was reminded today that taking those steps of obedience is sometimes hard. Sometimes, I won’t feel like obeying, like making a difference. Sometimes I just want to take a nap! 🙂 Sometimes I feel sick or exhausted or too busy, and I just don’t feel like doing anything for anybody but myself. And it is those times that I need my husband to say, “Honey, let’s choose to do the harder thing. I’ll help you.” And then, of course, I’m so glad after-the-fact that I did the small act with great love (or at least with a desire to have great love if only I weren’t feeling so cruddy). 🙂

Leave a Reply

