Knowledge In My Head? Or Change Of My Heart?

This post is a continuation of THIS and THIS.

So, after I have examined myself, searching for a consumer mentality and identifying attitudes and actions that need to be changed, I can ask the Holy Spirit to help me hold each thought captive. I can ask the Holy Spirit to change me.

One practical thing that comes to my mind is very simple. As I begin a new Bible study, I can ask God to show me ways to use what I learn to help others. For example, I just finished Lysa TerKeurst’s What Happens When Women Say Yes To God, and I am asking God to use what I learned in that book to benefit other people. I don’t want to be a woman who says yes to God so that I can pat myself on the back and appear more spiritual; I want to say yes to God so that I can make an impact on this world for Christ. I believe that if we ask God to use the things we learn to bless others, He will open our eyes to opportunities.

Another simple, yet life-changing, thing we can do is ask the Holy Spirit to use the things we learn to really change us. I have spent years collecting information and facts about the Bible, about how to study the Bible, about how to be a godly wife, and about how to be the best Christian mother. I’m embarrassed to tell you that I have not applied everything I have learned. Yes, I’ve applied some of it. Sometimes that application has lasted a week or two, and some of the stuff I’ve learned I’ve even made a way of life. But, honestly, when I think of all the books I’ve read, an amazingly small amount of what I’ve learned has actually stuck with me and manifested itself in my day-to-day actions. Just like my pastor said, my knowledge far exceeds my obedience. So, as I read the two books I’m reading now, I’m asking the Holy Spirit to really teach me, to take this information and transform me with it.

I believe that as we become transformed by God’s Word and by the godly counsel of others, we will become more like Christ. And when we become more like Christ, we will not waste our spiritual buffalo. We will look out for others before we look out for ourselves. As we become more like Christ, our eyes will be opened to opportunities to serve and love.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christ, Christianity, faith, love, Sara Groves

Leave a Reply

