Image-Bearer

I read something the other day that challenged me. I don’t even remember the whole context or exactly what the author was saying. I’ve been reading so many things lately that I can’t even be sure which author mentioned this phrase. But the idea was about seeing other people as bearers of God’s image.

So I’ve been thinking about how my actions, my thoughts, my attitudes might change if I really begin to view everyone I come into contact with as an image-bearer. I mean, can I really be rude to someone when I’m thinking of them as God’s own image-bearer? Even people who aren’t followers of Christ bear His image.

This is still pretty fresh in my mind, so I don’t have a whole lot to say about it; but I want to challenge you as I challenge myself. How might we impact our family, our church, our community, our world if we consciously choose to see everybody around us as image-bearers?

2 Comments

Filed under Bible, Christ, Christianity, faith

2 responses to “Image-Bearer

  1. This is one of the first worldview questions I really spent a lot of time thinking through. I came to the same conclusion you did… that all humans whether believers in Christ or not are of immeasurable worth because they are image bearers.

    I used to do “In ‘other’ Words” on Tuesdays (I keep meaning to get back…). Anyway the very first time I participated, the quote was about worth and holiness. I intellectually stumbled over many of the posts on this topic because often Christians spoke of themselves and others as having worth because of their position in Christ. While I agree that we are made “holy” or separate by what Christ did on the cross… we are worthy because of man’s special place in creation.

  2. I was talking with a store clerk this weekend who informed me that she sees me all over the place. (Most often Costco or Target – it really is an obsession, but that’s a whole other subject.) I was suddenly struck with how I am an image bearer. It’s one thing to think about it when you are having a conversation, but this lady was seeing me accross the store and not ever coming face-to-face with me. A not-so-gentle reminder!

Leave a Reply

