Sara Groves & Buffalo

At the MOPS Convention, I attended a smaller seminar in which Sara Groves spoke about raising children who are global thinkers, children who will impact their worlds for Christ. Obviously, this is something Sara is very passionate about. I wish all of you could have heard her speak about how God has shifted her mindset and opened her eyes to thinking differently. I know I won’t do it justice, but I’ll try to share a little bit with you about what she said because God has been shifting my mindset and opening my eyes in many of the same ways He has been with Sara.

Perhaps because she is a songwriter, Sara was able to paint a picture that fits perfectly with what God has been teaching me. It’s a picture of buffalo. This is what she said.

You know in the movie Dances With Wolves Kevin Costner wants to hunt buffalo? So finally, he goes with the Native Americans to hunt the buffalo. As they crawl up the hillside and come upon the crest, they peer down onto the plain. Scattered there on the flat land, is one dead buffalo after another. The white hunters had come and killed this entire herd of buffalo for the one part of the animal that was valuable to them. What makes this so tragic is that the Native Americans would use every part of the buffalo — the hide would become shelter and clothing, the bones would become tips for spears, the meat would be eaten, the bladder or kidney would be used for carrying water. Every part of the animal would be used. Every bit. But these hunters had come along and taken only that which they wanted and left the rest to ruin on the plain.

After reminding us of that scene, Sara Groves said — “I am not using all of my spiritual buffalo.” Boy, did that resonate within me! I am not using all of my spiritual buffalo. I am taking the best part, the part that is most valuable to me, and I’m leaving the rest.

I don’t want that to be true any more. I don’t want to waste any of my spiritual buffalo. I don’t want to set that example for my children. I want to be an example like Paul of the New Testament. I want to spend myself completely for others.

Along with this thought, Sara challenged us — “To what end have you been grooming your personal faith all these years?” Do I want to be a better Christian and live a nice life and be comfortable and raise children who will groom their faith so they will be better Christians and live nice lives and be comfortable so they will then raise their children who will groom their faith so they will be better Christians and live nice lives and be comfortable?

Or do I want more? Do I want my children to do something big for God? Do I want God to have great plans for them? Do I want them to know that we’re supposed to use every part of the buffalo?

I’m tired of wasting my spiritual buffalo. I want to spend myself completely for Christ. I want to share what I have with others. I want to impact my world for Christ.

6 Comments

Filed under Christ, church, faith, MOPS, motherhood, parenting, Sara Groves

6 responses to “Sara Groves & Buffalo

  1. Oh, good post! I am so tired of mediocre, comfortable Christianity in my life! There is so much more to being a Christian than going to church, performing your acts of service and worship there, and being a “good” Christian person the rest of the week. I feel a growing desire for God to use me and my family.

  2. I agree, but my question is how can I really do that? I have the desire, and I believe I really mean it, but it doesn’t seem to happen. What do we need to do to really live differently? What is it that stops us?

  3. Pingback: Fat, Fat Christian « My Derbe

  4. Pingback: Knowledge In My Head? Or Change Of My Heart? « My Derbe

  5. Pingback: Saved From A Life Of Trivia « My Derbe

  6. Pingback: What Do I Have To Share? « My Derbe

Leave a Reply

