Dancing, anyone?

So there’s something about me you may not know. I love to dance. I’m not that great a dancer, but I love to dance.

Well, I mean, I’m no Elaine from Seinfeld; I can dance better than that. To be fair, I don’t exactly move it and groove it all that well when I come up with my own moves, but I can learn dance steps. Like in country line dancing, a craze from my college years. Or like in folk dancing, something I learned at 4-H camp back home in West Virginia.

Yes, folk dancing. Stop laughing. It’s really fun. And no, it’s not exactly the same as square dancing, though that’s really fun too. I knew a really great folk dance set to Axel F. Uh huh, the theme song to Beverly Hills Cop. You can folk dance to lots of different kinds of music.

I thought I may have forgotten it, but I tried it today and was pleased that I do remember. Of course, my 9 year old daughter thought I had lost my mind and would prefer that I not dance on our front porch ever again. Anyway . . .

I love to dance. I think my favorite dance is the polka. Again, stop laughing. I am being serious.

I learned to polka at State 4-H Camp when I was a teenager. I can still remember the fun and exhileration of being swung around and around by a very cute guy named Chad (who I would later learn would probably have preferred polka-ing with my brother, but that’s beside the point). Chad, Dave, even Sharkey — they all knew how to lead when dancing the polka. I didn’t really have to do much at all, just hold on and follow them. At some points, my feet barely touched the floor. Oh, it was fun!

As I sat on my front porch today and thought about dancing (before I did the Axel F folk dance around my porch), the Holy Spirit turned a light bulb on in my brain. My life is like dancing the polka with God as my partner. I don’t have to do much at all, just hold on and follow Him. Sometimes, my feet may barely touch the floor. Sometimes my breath will be taken away and I’ll toss my head back and laugh with sheer joy. Other times, my Partner may be dancing faster than I’m comfortable with and I’ll barely be able to hang onto Him. That’s when He will hold tightly to me and we’ll keep dancing with Him fully in control. I can trust my Partner. He knows how to lead.

I love to dance. Especially when I don’t have to make up the steps; all I have to do is follow the steps my Partner teaches me.

Hmmm. I wonder if I have any polka music on my iPod.

6 Comments

Filed under 4-H, Axel F, Christianity, dancing, faith, joy, life

6 responses to “Dancing, anyone?

  1. Julie A.

    Jennifer!!! What a blast from the past memory. I so remember praying that one of those cute 4-H boys would swing me around. Sharkey did step on my toes a few times and that was never much fun. But I forgot how much I loved to Polka at state camp. Glad I got the cutest guy of them all!!!
    Thanks for the laugh out loud. Looking back now how ironic that Chad man was the big “score”. What a hoot!

    Julie

  2. This was a great post and a great analogy! I love it!

    I remember square dancing in elementary school – it was what we did in PE in the fall and we performed for open house night or something like that. I always had a lot of fun with it.

    By the way, I got a chuckle out of the post – telling a person not to laugh just makes them laugh by the way. πŸ˜€ I also got a good eyebrow raise with the part about Chad. haha!

  3. crystal

    πŸ™‚ I love dancing too and used to make up my own routines to Axel F (they were never any good–you might just have to teach me your dance!). Country swing is my favorite. The thrill of twirling, moving around the dance floor…it makes me want to crank up the stereo and ask that man of mine for a dance! πŸ™‚

  4. WV Grammy

    Well, I’ve danced a few square dances at local and state 4-H camps. I wasn’t half bad at it. Now you and Julie can stop laughing! The fun part was you changed partners and got to dance with lots of cute guys. See, not much changed in that 20 – 25 year period.

  5. you know what I long for? – dancing for Jesus – that we would be so free and uninhibited and taken over with joy that it would burst forth in our face and in our body when we worshiped Him… making us lift our hands, and kneel, and fall face down, and spin around, and dance, and cry for joy, and throw out our arms…

    so, its late, and I need to go to bed and it has been a burdened day… I feel like that Mary Mary song “Take the shackles off my feet so I can dance. I just want to praise You. I just want to praise You”

    And that is not really what you were talking about anyway! πŸ™‚ So, consider that FREE! lucky you! πŸ™‚

  6. hee hee, Renee. πŸ™‚ Don’t you wonder what worship will look like when we get to Heaven? How will we worship God? And can you imagine all the saints from all eternity worshipping Him together? Maybe you’ll dance beside King David, both of you undignified and free. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

