What A Day!

What a day this has been!

I am at the MOPS Convention in Florida. First of all, the hotel is so not the family-friendly free-breakfast-in-the-lobby kind. There were beautiful, thick white bathrobes hanging in the closet for us when we arrived. The housekeeping lady turned down the bed this evening. I can look out my window to the atrium and to one of the swimming pools (Yes, this hotel has more than one pool! One of the pools is only for adults, so you won’t get splashed by kids). I feel pampered just staying here. (That’s not to say there shouldn’t be some sort of fast-food joint in this place so we stay-at-home moms can afford to eat while we’re here; but maybe between the not being able to afford a meal and all the walking we do, MOPS should market the weight-loss benefits of Convention.)

Next, Matt Redman is leading our praise and worship. Wow! Singing “Blessed Be The Name” with Matt Redman playing the guitar and shouting out praises to God in his adorable British accent (not that that should really have anything to do with it) . . . I’m loving it!

Next, Sara Groves is here. I just love her voice. She just sounds pretty. And she is pretty. And she just had a baby 10 weeks ago, so she still has that glow. She’s not only singing, she also spoke at one of the sessions I attended this afternoon. It’s really cool to hear her speak of her spiritual background and the things God has been teaching her. It’s like she and I have lived in parallel universes. I appreciated the things she said today, and I’ll probably be blogging about that in the next couple weeks. I actually had a little chat with her this afternoon, and she’s just so sweet.

One of my family’s favorite groups, GO FISH is here! They are premiering their brand-new CD Snazzy this weekend. Because MOPS has had such an influence on the Go Fish guys’ ministry, they wanted to premiere the new CD here for the MOPS moms. I don’t have time to write a real review and do it justice, but you MUST purchase this CD. Your kids will love their rendition of Itsy Bitsy Spider and their fun bedtime song Jammies, though it may not really work at calming them down for bed. Every little boy will be singing Superhero. And all you moms will want to laugh and cry and cheer, all at the same time, when you hear The Mom Song. (And if you’re a dad, you could buy the CD and play The Mom Song for your wives and earn lots of brownie points!)

I also got to chat a little with Lysa Terkeurst of Proverbs 31 Ministries. She’s a wonderful author and a talented speaker. I love her book What Happens When Women Walk By Faith. God has used it to teach me and bless me during our own walk of faith in the past year and a half. So I told Lysa that this afternoon, and then we also talked about her new book (which I bought) and a mutual cyber-acquaintance who recently died of cancer. Lysa includes some writing from this woman’s blog in the new book, What Happens When Women Say Yes To God. I can’t wait to read it!

John Ortberg spoke this morning. I wasn’t very familiar with him before, though I had heard his name. He’s very funny! And he reinforced so much of what God has been teaching me. I’m sure I’ll be blogging about his message, and I’m adding his latest book to my reading list — When The Game Is Over, It All Goes Back In The Box.

Well, I’m winding down after a delicious dinner at a seafood restaurant (where an entire section of the restaurant looks like a big boat) and a concert by Go Fish and a dip in the adult-only pool and a Haagen-Dazs ice cream cone and many trips up and down stairs (which, of course, worked off the shrimp & pasta dinner and the ice cream cone).

I miss my children, but I’m going to be a better mom when I get home. Because better moms make a better world (our convention mantra). πŸ™‚

9 Comments

Filed under books, Christianity, faith, fun, joy, life, MOPS, motherhood, parenting

9 responses to “What A Day!

  1. crystal

    I LOVE the new Go Fish CD (Shannon, Laura and I all preordered it from their online store and got it early this week–it’s AWESOME!). My boys make me listen to “the superhero song” almost non-stop in the car. If we’re not listening to that song, Aidan wants to listen to “Put Your Jammies On!” (his name for that song). The mom song cracks me up!

    Glad you’re having fun at convention. πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to hear more about it.

  2. awesome!! it sounds just great.

    I just went to a worship leader’s conference and it wss definitely a highlight of the season. WE don’t get much like that way up here! πŸ™‚

  3. I loved reading your blog! I was in Orlando, too! It was my first MOPS convention and I loved all three musical guests. I had never heard of Sara or Go Fish prior to the convention. I attended both of Lisa’s workshops and was so moved by her testimony. I think my whole group of moms lost 5 pounds just from running around from one event to the next and from the lack of food! It’s good thing we brought a cooler full of food…;) Anyway, just thought I say a “hello”. Have a great MOPS year!
    Jen d.
    Savannah, GA

  4. Thanks, Jen. Yeah, we brought some food too and were so glad we did.

    I love Sara Groves’ music and I hope to write about the workshop she led. God really spoke through her to right where I am right now.

    I probably would have lost 5 pounds if I hadn’t splurged on that $6 ice cream cone. πŸ™‚

  5. Renee, I can definitely see how some people could get addicted to conventions and conferences. Funny that you wrote you don’t get much way up there. πŸ™‚ I guess I hadn’t thought of that.

    Crystal, πŸ™‚ We need to get our superheroes together soon.

  6. crystal

    Yes, we do need to get our superheroes together VERY soon. BTW, did you get the Oct. newsletter? Did the pictures come through for you? I know of one person who the pictures didn’t show up for and hope it didn’t happen to anyone else.

  7. got it and pics showed up, crystal. πŸ™‚ It looked great! I’m so impressed.

  8. Lucinda

    Jennifer, I got your blog from the Go Fish website, specifically from Jaime’s blog. I truly enjoy reading your thoughts and perspectives. Whenever you write a new entry, I will be eager to read. Thanks for your friendship.

  9. crystal

    Thanks (I’m blushing…) I’m glad the pics showed up. Thank you again for writing the Go Fish article for me. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

