How to Have Joy

Many times, I’ve heard that Christians may not always be happy, but we should always have joy. But where does that joy really come from? How do we feel joyful even when things are falling apart around us?

I came across this in my devotions.

Abide in Me, and I in you. . . . I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing. . . . If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you . . . As the Father loved Me, I also have loved you; abide in My love. If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love. These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full.” –John chapter 15

Jesus talked to His disciples about abiding in Him, keeping His commandments — loving God with everything they had and loving others as themselves — so that they would have His joy and so their joy would be full. (John 15:11)

Want to be joyful?
Abide in Christ. (John 15:4, 5, 7, 9)
Love God with every bit of your strength, your mind, your heart, your soul. (John 15:10)
Love other people as much as you love yourself. (John 15:10)
Read the Bible and memorize it. (John 15:7)
Know that Christ loves you and rest in that love. (John 15:9)

Then you will have Jesus’ joy and your joy will be full.

1 Comment

Filed under Bible, Christianity, faith, joy, life

One response to “How to Have Joy

  1. Martha

    I go back to this passage regularly!

    There is wonderful children’s song, too…
    “This is my commandment, that you love one another, that your joy may be full. (repeat)
    That your joy may be full…
    That your joy may be full…
    This is my commandment, that you love one another, that your joy may be full.”

    We’ve been getting some packages ready to send to my brother and sister-in-law and niece, and my joy has been full just thinking about them opening them!

Leave a Reply

