Miscellaneous Monday – Aug. 13, 2007

Since we’re moving into the back-to-school season, today I’ll share 3 memories of school.

1. I remember my kindergarten teacher coming to my house to meet me before the school year began. She visited each child in his home. I think she even brought me a schoolbus nametag to wear on the first day of school.

2. I remember Miss Booth, my fourth grade reading teacher who was fresh out of college, reading aloud to us. She had the best read-aloud voice and she used all the right inflections and just brought the stories to life. I also remember she asked us all to bring snowboots and coats and mittens and everything to school one snowy day so we could play outside in the snow and build snowmen during recess.

3. I remember being moved around in Mr. Tenney’s math class in sixth grade. It didn’t matter where I sat, I talked to whomever I sat beside. Finally, in frustration, he moved my desk all the way to the back of the room, away from all the other students’ desks and beside his. So . . . I talked to Mr. Tenney. And he let me. And he talked back. But I guess, at least, I was not distracting other children.

What school memories do you have?

3 Comments

Filed under fun, miscellaneous, school

3 responses to “Miscellaneous Monday – Aug. 13, 2007

  1. 1. My 2nd grade teacher also taught one of my dad’s younger brothers (Uncle Loran’s class was one of the first she ever taught). She remembered all of her students’ birthdays each year and would send birthday cards to the school after her retirement to give to us. She also wrote me notes to congratulate me on being on the honor roll, etc. when I was in high school. I still have some of those notes in my scrapbook! When I was a senior, those of us who had her for a teacher got together and took a class picture that we had enlarged and framed for her and we chipped in to buy her 1-2 dozen red roses (our class flower). She sent us the most touching note that we received in time for our graduation rehearsal–I don’t think there was a dry eye among her students.

    2. I had the same teacher for the 3rd grade and for the 5th grade (the other teacher who taught those grades had a daughter who was in my class and a son in the class below me, so she switched in order to not have to teach her kids). Mr. O read to us pretty much every day. I remember him reading Where the Red Fern Grows and Bambi to us in class, and the fact that he cried openly over the sad parts of the stories. Mr. O liked to tell booger jokes, and also would let us go outside on nice afternoons behind the school to build forts in the trees. He was right there with us, cleaning, building and imagining. I also remember him rolling in the upright piano from the music room in December so we could all sing Christmas carols in our classroom. He was one of the first people to recognize that God gifted me in music and gave me “extra homework” to learn chord charts for the piano and would check in on my progress fairly regularly.

    3. When I was in high school, my class consisted of 31 strong-willed, highly motivated students with strong opinions. 🙂 We fought and argued constantly (even though we were all in agreement most of the time–it was just more “fun” to debate about it). I guess that we were just a big family. 🙂

  2. 1. Corporal punishment was not banned (hmmm….how did I know that 😉 )

    2. The nastiest memory: In 2nd grade we had to take writing tests (penmanship–cursive writing). In the middle of my test, I felt sick, but my teacher would not let me get up–yelled at me to finish the test. I puked–right on the test! I went home and the next day I had to finish the test. Yup–you guessed it—she pulled out the paper I threw up on–I can still see/feel/smell it now!! GROSS!!

    3. I went to a very small school (K-12 in one building) so was involved in every activity. That came in handy when I didn’t want to go to class…”Mrs. So-n-so, I need to go run this to Mr. So-n-so’s room”. Funny how I always had someplace I could go…my favorite was excuses not to go to class but to go to the gym and help with the little kids (I rarely left school, just found better things to do than class!!)

  3. 1. My favorite teacher was Mrs. Zabolio.
    2. I really did walk home from school in several feet of snow… when the temperature was below zero, but I missed the bus.
    3. In high school, my bus stop was the very first stop, but I always caught the bus at the last stop. I missed the bus almost every day and sprinted 1.5 miles to the last stop… every day.

    Do you see a pattern? I am never late anymore. I no longer fix my hair or wear makeup really. I can get ready much, much faster. Yeah for 4+ years of night shift!

Leave a Reply

