A Successful Day In Big-Boy Underwear

I don’t want to jinx anything, but I’m pretty sure I can retire my title of World’s Worst Potty-Trainer. Jackson, who is 3 years and 3 months and 10 days old, wore big boy underwear today. He’s consistently peeing in the potty and more often than not, he’s pooping in the potty too. And we haven’t threatened to take away a birthday or anything. He’s doing this on his own. No gimmicks. No Cheerios in the toilet. No M&M’s or Skittles (though, in the interest of full disclosure, I must admit we did that for about a week earlier in June). No cutesy potty books that make flushing sounds. Not even the happy-happy-joy-joy pee-pee victory dance. In other words, this is requiring very little effort on my part.

I think I’ve finally discovered the trick to potty-training. Have two older brothers who regularly enjoy the pleasure of standing up to pee demonstrate this boy-privilege. That’s what sealed the deal for Jackson. He can stand up and watch himself make bubbles. “Momma, see the bubbles? Momma, can you hear it?” Aaaah, the simple pleasures in a 3 year old’s life.

We have a crudely-drawn chart hanging on the fridge marking Jackson’s Accident-Free Days. I didn’t even splurge for stickers. (This is what happens by the time you get to child number 5.) I’m simply drawing large happy faces and writing “Hooray” (which he can’t even read yet) onto the chart each night. After a week of happy faces, he can go to the store and pick out the Spiderman underwear he’s been asking for. Nevermind that we already own about 16 pairs of Spiderman briefs and 3 pairs of miniature Spiderman boxers, I already promised him his very own Spiderman underwear brand-new from the store. Of course, I made this promise when I thought he was asking for Fireman underwear. His words don’t always come out that clearly. I was wondering if they even made Fireman underwear when I made this promise, so I was quite relieved to find out he was really asking for Spiderman underwear–which, obviously, they do make, as our 19 pairs attest to.

Anyway, we’re well on our way to that full week of no-accidents. We’ve even survived one whole day in big-boy underwear. And 3 years, 3 months, and 10 days is within the scope of a normal potty-training age. So I gladly pass on the title of World’s Worst Potty-Trainer to some other mother.

10 Comments

Filed under motherhood, parenting

10 responses to “A Successful Day In Big-Boy Underwear

  1. Pretty Skinny Happy Mumma

    I think I might be able to take over the World’s Worst Potty-Trainer mantle from you! I have 2 boys – aged 16 months, and almost 3. I am so bad I haven’t even tried yet – I am dreading it! Well done with your baby’s success in big-boy pants – I hope he keeps up the good work! K xxx

  2. What a fun post to read. I got several chuckles out of it. πŸ™‚ That’s so exciting when it clicks isn’t it! My daughter was the hard one to potty train so when my son came along I wasn’t even going to try until he was 3 (she was a little past 3 when she had complete success) but wouldn’t you know it – he figured it out just after turning 2 and I didn’t have to really do anything! If only she had been so easy. haha! Congrats on your son’s success!!!

  3. 16 months and almost-3 are YOUNG! πŸ™‚ I say wait until boys are at least 3 until you start potty-training. This advice, of course, is from the former World’s Worst Potty-Trainer, so take it for what it’s worth. πŸ™‚ Actually, I don’t have time to take a 2 year old to the bathroom every 20 minutes. I would rather wait until the child is older and more self-sufficient and has a larger bladder and can hold it a little longer. That’s just my preference.

    And you can’t even be in the running for the title until you have a 4 year old who refuses to be potty-trained. We actually had to threaten my older son that he couldn’t turn 5 until he got potty-trained. And he finally did it, just barely in time to send out invitations to a party. Ugh.

  4. momlovesbeingathome, I always dreamed of an easy potty-trainer. So far, 5 kids down and none of them super easy. This one, my 5th, has been the easiest. I’m holding out hope for the 6th one to be the one who practically trains himself.

  5. thevoiceoftruth

    Congratulations!!! I know what a day of victory it was for my kids when they had their first days in “big boy” underwear!

  6. Yay Jack!!! His birthday buddy is finally doing much better in the potty arena too. πŸ™‚ Until last Friday at Chick-fil-A, we had about 2 accident-free weeks…however, we did have to use M&Ms to get him to be more interested in not having accidents. If he goes an entire day without an accident, he gets 10. Surprisingly enough, that was the motivation he needed, and for that I am thankful. Before then, he thought accidents were funny!

  7. yee haw… making bubbles… who would have thought that would be the key! πŸ™‚

  8. No chocolate? What?

    I don’t mean for your son – I mean – for MOM!

    I desperately need the chocolate to help me get through my children’s potty training. πŸ™‚

    There was a day when we passed out m and ms to everyone when the “new kid” was in potty training. They were the cheerleaders – encouraging, clapping – all because they wanted the rewards that came with it. πŸ™‚

    Congratulations!

  9. [World’s Worst Potty-Trainer] I am pretty sure that my sister has this one in the bag. None of her three kids was potty trained until they were older than 3-1/2. She didn’t do any of the things I hear about… charts, stickers, M&M’s nothing. She just said when the child is ready they will go to the bathroom.

  10. Pingback: Start Potty Training free video - free video

Leave a Reply

