Yummy Soup!

It’s cool and rainy and dreary here today. The perfect day for soup!

We won’t be having this soup because we just had it, but this Chicken Fajita Soup earned a gold star from my family. My 6 year old said to tell everyone he ate 3 bowls and would have eaten 4 bowls but his tummy was too full.

Chicken Fajita Soup —

1 package fajita seasoning mix

1/3 cup water

1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces

2 Tbsp. minced garlic

2 Tbsp. fresh cilantro, chopped

1 small red onion, chopped

*optional – 1 cup salsa

*optional – red and green peppers, diced

8 oz. cream cheese, cubed

16 oz. Velveeta, cubed

29 oz. chicken broth (2 cans)

1 can cream of chicken soup

* combine chicken pieces, fajita seasoning, and water in bowl or large ziploc and let marinate in fridge (at least 30 min. – I did it overnight)

* spray large pot with non-stick spray and add garlic and cilantro. Cook on medium-high heat for 1 min.

* add chicken and onions (and salsa and peppers, if preferred). Mix well and cook for 10 min. or until the chicken is cooked all the way through. (stir often)

* add cream cheese, Velveeta, cream of chicken soup, and chicken broth. Mix well. Cook on medium heat until all the cheese is melted. Stir occasionally.

We served it with rice on the side, and some of us mixed it in the soup. And we crumbled up Doritoes and mixed in (like crackers).

3 Comments

Filed under Family, recipe

3 responses to “Yummy Soup!

  1. Nickole

    Yum! I’m definitely going to try this…in fact, I think it’s MOPS cookbook worthy! Do I have permission to submit it in your honor? By the way, I made your poppyseed chicken last night and added a bag of mixed veggies- delicious- thanks! XOXO

  2. Oh… thanks for coming to my blog today. I was making a grocery list and wondering what to make for supper and I saw you photo and remembered this yummy soup! Okay, last time I made it with leftover turkey so I didn’t exactly follow the recipe. This time I will, except for no peppers.

  3. Julie, I have barely read any blogs for a long time. So it was a treat to stop by yours today & catch up. 🙂

    Enjoy the soup. We haven’t had it in a while. Maybe when we get back in town after Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

