A Dad’s Not Supposed To Be A Clone of Mom

When my first child was born, a wise friend at church (who is a few years ahead of me in this parenting thing) gave me some super advice. She said that my husband would do things differently than I would and that I should let him.

In the past 9 years, I have sometimes successfully followed her advice. Other times, I’ve blown it. But I know that she’s right. The dad is not supposed to be exactly like the mom. My husband has never changed a diaper exactly like I do. He doesn’t give baths the same way I do. He is different.

What’s that old saying? There’s more than one way to skin a cat. Everything doesn’t have to be done my way. Oh, sure, sometimes I’m sure my way is better. And sometimes I’m so prideful I just have to say so. But the truth is — the outcome is usually the same, whether it’s done my way or his way. And sometimes his way is better. And sometimes his way gets more water on the bathroom floor during bathtime, but at some point I realized Who cares? The kids were bathed, and I didn’t have to do it. The water on the bathroom floor can be soaked up with a towel. I’d rather have a husband who’s willing to give baths than a dry bathroom floor.

So, today I honor my husband. Honey, I’m glad you’re not exactly like me. I’m glad you’re an active dad — giving fun baths, wrestling in the floor before bed, feeding them a big snack and calling it lunch, putting their baby clothes on backwards, letting them wear clothes to bed, letting them wear cowboy boots with cargo pants, and playing Playstation with our daughter way past her bedtime. You might not always do things the way I would choose, but you’re here and you’re involved and our children are blessed to have you as their daddy. I’m so glad you’d rather put their clothes on backwards a few times than sit back and let me do all the dressing. You’re great! Happy Father’s Day.

5 Comments

Filed under Family, marriage, motherhood, parenting

5 responses to “A Dad’s Not Supposed To Be A Clone of Mom

  1. What a great post! I have to admit that I struggle with the same thing. So many times I think my way is the only way it should be done. That’s something I’ve really tried to work on and hopefully I’m getting better. šŸ™‚ Thankfully, I have a great hubby as well who puts up with me and is a wonderful daddy to our kids.

  2. Thanks for stopping by and for your comment. I’m glad I’m not the only mom who hasn’t gotten this right all the time.

  3. Shannon K

    My rule of thumb is to only interfere if the kids’ health is at stake – like when he was going to give one of the kids milk when they had been throwing up all day or when he thought that putting the feverish kid out in the snow would be a good way of bringing the fever down, for instance… Bryan is so much more fun than I am with the kids and I would never want to squelch that.

  4. Good point, Shannon. šŸ™‚

  5. Patrick

    All I’m going to say is that at lease the kids were clothed. šŸ˜‰ Thanks for a great post, honey.

Leave a Reply

