Music That Makes Me Think

Do you all ever listen to Andrew Peterson? I enjoy his music. The style is easy and soothing, and the lyrics are deep and thought-provoking.

On his website, Andrew has this information in his biography section:

Meister Eckhart wrote, “God is at home. We are in the far country.” . . . “It expressed so simply the way I feel about life on this earth, and my heart resounded with the truth of it,” recalls Peterson. “I loved the way it turned my thinking on its end; we usually think of Heaven as the far country, a cloudy, ethereal place, an eternal church service, which sounds about as appealing as traffic school. C.S. Lewis said that all of our desires, for acceptance, intimacy, rest, work, satisfaction, beauty are, at their root, desires for heaven.”

I like that thought. I am not at home. I’m in a foreign land. Please, Father, direct my thoughts and desires and attention toward Home. Don’t allow me to get too comfortable here.

I’ve been thinkin’ about my home
I’ve never been but I will, I know
Meadow green and the river wide
Valley deep and the mountain high

The saints of old are singing now (Shiloh)
My ears are ringing with the sound (Shiloh)
But greater still, as clear as day (Shiloh)
I can hear my Savior saying
I can hear my Savior saying
I can hear my Savior say

“Come home, come home and rest awhile
Come home, come home and rest awhile”

—–from Andrew Peterson’s song Shiloh on his album Carried Along

1 Comment

Filed under Christianity, faith

One response to “Music That Makes Me Think

  1. Pingback: Am I A Pariah? « My Derbe

Leave a Reply

