The Greatest Commandment & The Great Commission

I was thinking the other day about the greatest commandment and the great commission. If we’re striving to live the greatest commandment, loving God with all our hearts, all our souls, all our strength (Deut. 6:5, 11:13, Matthew 22:37), then we will automatically follow the great commission to go and make disciples of all nations (Matthew 28:19-20).

Jesus said that all of the other commandments really hinge on this one, loving God with all our hearts, souls, and strength. Of course, Jesus also mentioned loving our neighbors as ourselves, but I think that also is a natural outpouring of loving God with all we are and all we have. If we’re loving God, how can we not love other people? I mean, if we are really, really loving Him.

If I am loving God with every bit of my being, then I will think of Him constantly, I will talk to Him constantly, I will speak of Him constantly. I won’t be able to help it.

Think of it this way. I have a great husband and six children. I love them. I think they’re wonderful and amazing people. You can’t talk to me for very long before you find out about my husband and children. They are such a part of my life — really a part of ME –, I can’t help but talk about them. That’s how it is when you love somebody.

That’s how it is when you love God with all you’ve got. You can’t help but talk about Him. He just fills you up and overflows from you. You’ll find yourself talking about God, about what you read in His Word, about how He has blessed you, about what He’s leading you to do. It will just come naturally when you really love Him.

So I believe the best way to fulfill the great commission is to NOT focus on the great commission. I believe the best way to fulfill the great commission is to focus on the greatest commandment. Love God with every bit of your heart, your soul, and your strength. Love Him with every fiber of your being. Then you will want to share all about Him with everyone you meet.

3 Comments

Filed under Bible, Christianity, faith, missions

3 responses to “The Greatest Commandment & The Great Commission

  1. Well said! And to add to that, from John Piper, “God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him” – and people can’t help to notice that in us! There’s something about being truly satisfied in God that is purely magnetizing. People just want to be near it and get a taste of it.

  2. Thanks, Mudlark. That is a great quote by Piper. I think my brain will be pondering this sentence for a while — “There’s something about being truly satisfied in God that is purely magnetizing.”

    Good thoughts.

  3. Jeff

    This is becoming one of my favorite passages of Scripture (Duet 6:4-5). “Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one. (or the LORD alone) Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength (might)”

    It is the beginning of the Hebrew prayer the Shema (Hear) from the first word in verse 4. Actually the Shema is Deut 6:4-9, Deut 11:13-21, and Number 15:37-41. This is the prayer that religious Jews pray every morning and every evening. How cool to begin every day proclaiming that God is God, and reminding ourselves that we are to love Him with our entire being. And then to end the day reflecting on that same idea – confessing our shortcomings and going to bed with a proper perspective. This is something I have tried to incorporate into my life sometimes successfully, sometime not. But when I do, it is a blessing.

Leave a Reply

