Approaching God

C.S. Lewis on approaching God:

He can’t be used as a road. If you’re approaching Him not as the goal, but as a road, not as the end but as a means, you’re not really approaching Him at all. That’s what was really wrong with all those popular pictures of happy reunions “on the further shore”; not the simple-minded and very earthly images, but the fact that they make an End of what we can get only as a by-product of the true End.

Father, will You help me to see my relationship with You as the goal, not only as a means to reach Heaven? Will You help me to have Your eyes and see that my relationship with You is Heaven?

5 Comments

Filed under C.S. Lewis, Christianity, faith, thoughts

5 responses to “Approaching God

  1. Right on! If it’s about ‘us’ and what we get out of it, we’re missing the point. Unless we know that it’s all about Him we’re sadly misinformed.

  2. I enjoyed this quote… I imagined a maze with me on one end and heaven on the other. I tried to find the path marked God so that I could get to my ultimate reward, eternal life. We really do that sometimes don’t we? We make God the path to a human-centered goal. Hmmph…

    When Marissa and I studied world views last year and examined Lewis’ writing in the light of scripture. I did find some thing that I questioned. I was blog wandering and found this Think on These Things Article.

    Still, you are right. CS Lewis remains a great Christian apologists. Lewis is wonderfully articulate with his words. He paints pictures for our mind that point us to truth and help us understand abstract ideas better than any writer alive today.

    Thanks for sharing ~

  3. Julie, thanks for the link to that article. I don’t agree with everything C.S. Lewis says, and I don’t think he’s “second only to the voice of God.” I do think he was incredibly gifted and his writings cause me to think deeply about God and my own beliefs.

    I do not tend to be a jump-on-the-bandwagon, love-everything-this-one-person-has-to-say kind of girl. I tend to see things I agree with and things I don’t agree with in just about every Christian teacher/writer, and I take what I can and toss out the rest.

  4. I wanted to apologize to you. I didn’t mean to imply that you believed everything CS Lewis wrote. I am a still a newer home schooling mom. We are finishing our second year. It really is like my love of history, theology and literature was woken by my starting to home school. In my life as a nurse, the only thing I ever read was medical research and journals. My thought life was occupied with physiology, chemistry and nutrition. My excitement for each new thing I learn just boils over and spills out in my blog and in comments I write.

    I also think CS Lewis is incredibly talented. We own almost all of his books and I quote him often.

  5. No need to apologize, Julie. I just was clarifying since you brought it up. I have known some C.S. Lewis junkies who really do hang on every word he wrote. Though I do enjoy his writing, I am not one of them. And the article you linked is very interesting. I hope others click on it to read it.

    It is fun how homeschooling affects the parents. I was doing geography the other day with the children, and I was far more excited about it than they were. 🙂

Leave a Reply

