The Great Commission – Part 2

It has taken me longer than I had planned to come back to this topic. I’ve been thinking about it, though, and want to be sure my thoughts are well-processed before I write them down. I also was listening to some teachings about what a disciple really is in Jewish culture. That has made my brain work extra hard. 🙂 So bear with me.

“Go therefore and make disciples.” My husband has a handy-dandy program with a Lexicon and dictionary and he can look up words to see what they mean in the original language. He says this word that is translated “go” really means “as you are going.” Translated that way, this command pretty clearly assumes those first disciples would be going. We could apply it to our lives to mean — as we are going, wherever we are going, be a disciple and make disciples.

We don’t have to be called to a foreign country. We don’t have to be in full-time Christian ministry. As we are going, we should be a disciple and make disciples.

What does this look like? I have some thoughts, but I will save those for when I have more time to write. I do want to hear your ideas, though. What does this look like in your life?

4 Comments

Filed under Bible, Christianity, church, faith, missions

4 responses to “The Great Commission – Part 2

  1. Hi,

    My experience is that people are scared of dying, and they’re open to talking about what the Bible says. Anywhere where people are hanging around, is a good place to approach them to have a discussion.

    Usually parades or at parks or downtown, there are people who are just standing around, willing to talk. When I first started it was very scary to walk up to a stranger, but now I truly enjoy it. I’d much rather talk to a stranger than a friend or family member, because if a strager gets offended, it doesn’t matter, because I’ll probably never see them again anyway.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  2. Jeff

    Hey, first sorry I wasn’t able to make it to Derbe to get you a picture : ) Maybe someone on the trip will take one for me.

    As for the “go” portion – I think the disciples already had some idea of what this entailed. Jesus had already sent the 12 out and in Matt. 10:7 told them “As you go, preach this message: ‘The kingdom of heaven is near.’ . . . ” And he had already told them to take it to Judea, Samaria and the rest of the world. The difference I think we are seeing today is that when we go, we may not be preaching the message Jesus asked us to. I believe have become more interested in making “converts” than disciples. Being a disciple is more than saying I believe in Jesus and that he is the Son of God, as Satan believes this. I think the idea of discipleship is closely tied with this idea of the “kingdom of God” or the “kingdom of heaven.” Jesus spent 3 years “making disciples” investing his life in waling with them and teaching them how to be like him. He didn’t preach a message ask them to raise their hands and then go off and leave them because they now had their ticket to heaven.

    Sorry, if this comes across as brash, but God has put his subject on my heart for a while lately, and I feel passionately that as the church we need to rethink this area. I know that this will surprise you sis that I have strong opinions : ).

    Jeff

  3. I am shocked at your strong opinions. I’m also wondering why you aren’t in bed resting and getting well.

    I’m going to start a new post to discuss how we make disciples.

  4. Jeff

    Who says I’m not in bed resting – maybe that is why I there were so many typos in the last post.

Leave a Reply

