Miscellaneous Monday – 5/07/07

As usual, please play along.

Here are this week’s 3 random pieces of information about me —

1. I accepted Christ as my Savior when I was 11. It was at a revival meeting in a Methodist church, and the speaker was preaching about Hell. (He was bald and his head got really red and the veins popped up.)

2. I was baptized in a river. I was scared and the water was cold, but I’m glad I was obedient in identifying publicly with the death, burial, and resurrection of Christ.

3. I believed in God and knew all about Jesus before I began a personal relationship with Him, but I was still on my way to Hell.

8 Comments

Filed under miscellaneous, random, thoughts

8 responses to “Miscellaneous Monday – 5/07/07

  1. 1. I was baptized in a river too! (my brother was baptized that very same day).

    2. I like to bake my own bread–kneading the dough is very therapeutic for me…plus, the scent of the dough rising and the bread baking permeating my house is a definite plus. šŸ™‚

    3. Currently, I am reading at least 3 books.

  2. 1. My mother was a Christian and I went to church my whole life, but I didn’t accept Jesus as my Savior until I was an adult.

    2. I only agreed to be baptized after the pastor assured me that the baptismal was heated. I am quite sure the heater was broken the day of my baptism. I am quite sure the water was only a few degrees above freezing.

    3. I am going to Haiti on a mission trip in June. I will be able to meet the kids I am adopting! (Okay… that was a brag and a miscellaneous. I couldn’t help it. I am so excited; I might burst if I don’t share!)

  3. Patrick

    1. Wow . . . common theme. I was also baptized in a river . . . in the Philippines.

    2. I’ve been to 47 states (not Maine, North Dakota, or Alaska).

    3. I often eat popcorn for breakfast or lunch.

  4. And you could have gone to North Dakota. You were a short drive away in South Dakota. But you had such a nice hotel in South Dakota that you didn’t want to leave. šŸ™‚ hee hee hee

  5. Patrick

    You, of course, are correct. I could have gone to ND. However, when I have a mud rag, cigarette holes in the bed covering, and the number of my hotel room spelled out in rope on my door, why should I leave?

  6. You weren’t missing much in ND anyways Patrick. šŸ™‚ I slept pretty much the entire time we drove anywhere in that state–although I did enjoy getting to meet all of my extended family on my mom’s side who live there.

    That hotel in SD sounds like quite the winner! Maybe we should try staying there next time we’re passing through. šŸ˜‰

  7. Gmama

    1. Patrick has been to Maine; he just doesn’t remember it.

    2. When did he get to Iowa?

    I have been on all the continents except Australia and Antarctica.

  8. Patrick has memory issues. (Speaking of which, two important occasions are happening in the next few days, dear — Mother’s Day and our anniversary.)

    So far, I’ve only been to North America and Australia, but I’ll be adding South America to that list soon. But I guess Patrick has been to N. America, Australia, Asia, Europe, and will be going to South America – so that leaves Africa and Antarctica for him.

    But really, who wants to go to Antarctica? Nobody even lives there. Brrrrrrr

Leave a Reply

