Miscellaneous Monday-4/30/07

For those of you just tuning in, on Mondays I post three random pieces of information about myself and you play along and post three random facts about yourself, either in my comments or on your on blog and link to it in my comments section. πŸ™‚

1-a. After my third child in three years, my husband and I asked my OB if he had a plan like a Sub-club card. You know, you have so many and you get one free. He laughed and agreed that was a great idea and said, “Yeah, actually, I have five children so the fifth one I deliver is free.” He did not deliver my first child, so our sixth baby was free. Well, we still paid the hospital co-pays and stuff, but my OB didn’t charge us anything.

1-b. I’m the only patient to take him up on that deal.

2. On average, I lost ten pounds during the first trimester of each pregnancy because I threw up so much. I was most sick during my first pregnancy and my fifth pregnancy (a girl and a boy). With my first, I ended up getting these painful Vitamin B shots twice to help me not be sick. It hurt like crazy, but it helped. And by the time I was pregnant with #5, Zofran was available. That stuff is a miracle drug when it comes to getting rid of nausea. (I highly recommend it.)

3. I actually helped deliver baby #4. My doctor knew another doctor who was into letting her patients reach down and help pull the baby out after the arms were out. So he asked if I wanted to try. I reached down and held the baby under the arms and helped pull him up onto my tummy. It was sort of cool, but mostly gross. πŸ™‚ I’m glad my doctor had a good hold on him because he was pretty slimy and slippery.

12 Comments

Filed under miscellaneous, motherhood, pregnancy, random

12 responses to “Miscellaneous Monday-4/30/07

  1. 1. You and I are both mothers of 3-year-olds today. πŸ™‚ (Happy Birthday Jack!)

    2. I pretty much wear flip flops (aka “pop-pops” in our house) all year long–rain, sun, snow, freezing rain…

    3. Saturday night I went to this AWESOME worship service that vtONE put on at Henderson Lawn. I almost teased Rob to say it was one of the best date nights ever…worshiping and talking to our heavenly Father together!

  2. 1. I will be the mother of a 3-year-old just as soon the Haitian government releases my dear Beverly’s passport.

    2. Beverly is not coming alone. One-year-old David is coming too.

    3. Based on David’s height and weight. He is wearing clothes sized for a boy of 3. In fact, there is only 2 pounds difference between the two children despite Beverly having 21-months on him.

  3. Cool, Julie. πŸ™‚ My 3 year-old as-of-today is almost as big as his 4 year-old brother, even though there is 20 months difference between the two. They share clothes. (Which I guess won’t work very well with Beverly and David. πŸ™‚ )

  4. Martha

    1. I love to try out a recipe for the first time when we are going to have company. I love the adventure and risk of it all! πŸ™‚ (I know, I’m pretty cautious as people go…)

    2. The colors that I use in my house are pretty much the same colors that I love to wear (green, brown, orange/peach, red).

    3. I picked out china dishes for “every day” when we were getting married before I knew what colors I really liked to wear. πŸ™‚ (They are Poppies on BLUE…)

  5. Martha, I used to wear blue all the time. Now, I’ve diversified. πŸ™‚ I remember the first year I taught school, I realized one Friday that I had worn blue every day that week.

    And I like to try out recipes on company too. Several years ago, I cooked for a large group of college students at least once a week. I was always trying out stuff on them.

  6. But I do recommend reading recipes very carefully if you’re making it for company. I remember when I was cooking breakfast-for-dinner for a college guy who came over once a week to eat and have accountability-time with my husband. I didn’t have any Bisquick, so I had to make biscuits from scratch. Instead of baking powder, I used baking soda. Bless his heart, the college student wasn’t going to complain at all. He was just eating that biscuit. I don’t know how he kept from throwing up! I took one bite and spit it out and said, “Gross. These are horrible. Stop eating them now.” πŸ™‚

  7. Martha

    Yes, I’m afraid I don’t always read all the way through a recipe, like the roll-out sugar cookie dough that reads, “Refrigerate OVERNIGHT.”

    That’s so funny about the baking soda! One time, instead of sugaring a pan for a friendship bread, I salted the pan. I ended up cutting the entire crust off and eating the inside, which was delish…

  8. yeah…and don’t try to substitute red pepper flakes for whole dried chiles (I was making a chile and garlic chicken recipe for friends who had been bragging to others about my culinary skills after I had brought them dinner–let’s just say that this particular evening was a very humbling one for me, although the chicken tasted pretty decent when all was said and done…). πŸ™‚ Once the red pepper flakes hit the hot oil in the pan, this HORRID smoke came rising from the pan and started burning our eyes and lungs. We had to open every single window and door in our house and have fans going, etc. just so we could breathe. Thankfully we were cooking for close friends, so they did come back to join us again. πŸ˜‰

  9. I can remember living in our church parsonage and baking a giant sugar cookie for a fruit pizza. The cookie oozed over the sides of the pan and burned and smoke filled the entire parsonage first floor. And I was concerned that I’d just ruined the church’s oven.

    I can also remember the first time I made spaghetti for my husband after we were married. I wanted to make my own sauce. So I did. And it was so watery. We ended up with this pile of noodles swimming in a big pool of watery sauce. It was awful. But my dear husband ate it and told me how good it was. Bless his heart! Those first couple of years, he ate an awful lot of mess-ups. πŸ™‚

  10. stuartdelony

    1. We got into a wreck on the way to the hospital when we were pregnant with our first child.

    2. Time of first labor and delivery 13+ hours. Times of the second and third combined: 2 hours.

    3. During delivery #3 the nurse rolled her eyes at us and said we weren’t in labor, but humored us by admitting into a room. Samuel came 30 min later.

  11. Stuart, I’d say with #4, you should just camp out at the hospital the entire last month. πŸ™‚ Or you might be like that guy who pulled over to the side of the highway and delivered the baby — did you see that on the news recently?

Leave a Reply

