My Hamper Runneth Over

Laundry . . . . you’d think with one child wearing the same basketball jersey every day and another wearing only swim-trunks, I wouldn’t have so much laundry. But, alas, my hamper runneth over.

Why do I have such a hard time keeping up? Perhaps it is because this is how the laundry chore goes around here . . .

I sort through the hampers finding dark-colored clothes. I carry an armload to the washer and begin to look through pockets before I dump them in. I find a rock, a Hot Wheels car, Luke Skywalker, a few quarters and pennies that the children “found” around the house -probably in my purse.

Wait! The baby has dropped his toy from his highchair (his front-row viewing for laundry and school). And the girls are shouting that they see snowflakes, so I have to ooh and aaah. And I must referee a battle over the Hot Wheels track. Oops! The baby dropped his toy again, so I recruit a big brother to volunteer to play this game of Dropsy.

Now, back to cleaning out pockets. Ewwww . . . what is that? Oh! Glittery silly putty holding the pocket together. And some Legos. And some old Wal-Mart receipts someone pulled from the trash. Now, I can dump the clothes in the washer. And take out the white dress shirt my helper has added in. And the rolled-over attached pair of socks my other helper tossed over my shoulder. And fish the pair of size 2T jeans out from behind the washer because my other helper overshot his mark.

Finally, I can add detergent and start the washing machine. But I’ll probably get so busy with school and diapers and meals and dishes and sending children to take the dog out and take the trash out and bring the mail in that I’ll forget about these clothes until they get that nasty sour smell, so I’ll get to wash them again in white vinegar. Then I’ll remember to set a timer to remind me to put them in the dryer. Only I’ll have to interrupt the timer when someone has to sit in time-out.

Hmmm . . . wonder why my hamper runneth over.

7 Comments

Filed under Family, Funny, humor, motherhood

7 responses to “My Hamper Runneth Over

  1. If you give a mouse a cookie….

    This sounds just like laundry at my house! Have you been watching me! πŸ™‚

    Oh wait. I don’t check pockets. If it is valuable to them, they will take it out of their pocket. I have washed more flash drives than I care to mention from the pockets of my 14 year old….

    The grossest that I ever found was in the pocket of a pair of jeans fresh from the dryer. It was a crunched up, dried up…snail. Yep. Been thru the washer AND dryer. It didn’t look too good…

  2. Well, I washed and dried a couple crayons once. What a mess! So I check pockets now.

    And the day I wrote about our laundry, I still managed to find another rock, a quarter, and a piece of washed and dried paper as I was taking the laundry OUT of the dryer. So even though I check pockets, I still miss things.

    I think my dryer does magic — it takes out baby socks and throws in rocks and nasty paper.

  3. πŸ™‚

    That is funny, Jenn. πŸ™‚

  4. Hi! I came by way of Holly! (she’s collecting points ;))
    That sounds familiar. I check pockets too. We have had way too many air-soft be-be’s go through and pocketknives. (Maybe I should start charging a return fee.)
    “And some old Wal-Mart receipts someone pulled from the trash.”
    That cracked me up, my kids do that too. WHY?
    Can’t think of a grossest.
    A most annoying though is finding things in the wash that were clean in the first place. Ergh!

  5. Welcome, Roberta.

    Finding clean clothes in the hamper is a BIG topic around here lately. I think what I said in total frustration the other day was, “Does it look like I don’t have enough to do and you need to give me extra work?” Like we aren’t already being taken over by the giant mound of laundry, we need to add perfectly clean, outdoorsy-fresh-smelling clothes to that mound. *sigh*

    Some day, I’ll only have old-people clothes to wash . . . I know, I know . . . so I’m trying to appreciate the adorable little people who fill their pockets with all sorts of nasty things and who take clothes straight from the drawer to the hamper.

  6. I’m here through Holly, also-but I just had to comment because it sounds like my hamper. Except it is usually my hamper and two clothes baskets that runneth over. I have the hardest time keeping up with my laundry…. it doesn’t help that my machines are in the dungeon of a basement. I know, excuses, excuses…. = )

  7. me too, I’m here through Holly… she gets a prize for… something!! πŸ™‚

    I have heard the saying you aren’t done with laundry until its folded and put away, so you don’t consider the chore done until then, and I couldn’t help but wondering if MAYBE the lady didn’t have young children anymore!! plus, if I put washing, drying, folding, put away as 4 different jobs… I feel better about ticking EACH ONE off mentally!! great satisfaction!!

    p.s. I do not like laundry!

Leave a Reply

