Fire Safety

So . . . if a fire alarm ever goes off, you can easily spot my kids. They’ll be the only ones standing around yelling, “Dinner’s ready!”

I like to think it’s because our smoke alarm is so sensitive, but our alarm does often sound while I’m making dinner. Beep. Beep. Beep. The fan roars over the stove. Beep. Beep. Beep. Then a chorus of “Dinner’s ready!” as the kids come running to the table.

A couple days ago, as the smoke alarm beeped and dinner sizzled, my husband pounced upon the teachable moment. Pointing out the small tree farthest away from the house, he instructed the children about a family meeting place and other fire safety tips. Today, as the smoke alarm beeped yet again and the smell of frying hamburger made our mouths water, we reviewed fire safety and the family meeting place.

“What if you’re in your pajamas?” One child asked. “Do you go outside in your pajamas?”

“Yes,” we answered. “If the house is really on fire, go outside no matter what you have on.”

“But what if you’re in the shower? Do you go outside naked?”

As the giggles erupted, my husband answered. “Wrap a towel around you and run outside. It’s better to be outside in a towel than inside and burned up.”

“Or go outside naked!” Someone shouted, each word punctuated by laughter.

“Well,” my husband muttered, “it’s better to be outside naked than inside dead.”

Then our witty daughter said, “Well, it depends on if you want to die of fire or die of embarrassment.”

Yeah, I’m with her. 🙂

11 Comments

Filed under Family, fun, Funny, humor, motherhood, thoughts

11 responses to “Fire Safety

  1. LOL!!! I’m with you too. 🙂

  2. Oh…I forgot to mention in my previous comment that my boys would be all over going outside naked. 😉

  3. astrowombat

    hahaha! Don’t you just love family dinner time conversations? 🙂

    Oh….and we finally removed the batteries from the fire alarm in the kitchen….

    it was just too much. 😉

  4. HAAAAAAAAAAahahahahahahaaaaaaaa!

  5. crystal, I think my boys liked the idea of naked.

    astrowombat, glad to know I’m not the only one with an overly-sensitive smoke alarm. *hee hee*

  6. Have a wonderful blessed Christmas.
    🙂
    In Jesus,
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  7. Yes. It really is ALL the smoke alarms fault. 😉

  8. Too cute!!!!! Hope you are having a most blessed Christmas weekend! Love ~ Patricia

  9. Just what my kids needed – ideas. 🙄 😉

    Tonight the smoke alarm went off (daughter frying bacon…honest!!) and 3 children call out “Dinners ready!”

    Guess I’ll learn to not read every funny blog outloud, won’t I? 😉

  10. ha ha ha, Dawn! Thanks for that laugh.

Leave a Reply

