Christmas Albums

Most of my favorite Christmas albums are albums I’ve listened to at Christmastime for years and years and years.

b000001f9101_aa90_scthumbzzz_.jpg I am not a big Statler Brothers fan, but my parents are; and their Christmas Card album was played at Christmastime in our home back when it was actually an album. Now I listen to it on my iPod, but I miss that distinct record sound of my childhood. 🙂 The Christmas season wouldn’t be complete without hearing I Believe in Santa’s Cause and The Carols Those Kids Used To Sing.

b00002ddpk01_scthumbzzz_.jpg Another album that brings back memories is Christmas Time With The Judds. Nobody sings O Beautiful Star of Bethlehem like the Judds.

b000hc2p8601_scthumbzzz_v39278156_.jpg “Aaaaalvin” We also had the record of Christmas With The Chipmunks. Now, it is fun to share this Christmas album memory with my own children, who laugh at all the same corny jokes I laughed at. And my 7-year-old is enjoying singing along to All I Want For Christmas Is My Two Front Teeth, since she recently lost both her top front teeth.

I also love all of Amy Grant’s Christmas albums.

Her O Little Town Of Bethlehem on this album b000002woj01_scthumbzzz_v38254936_.jpg is one of my favorite arrangements.

Mannheim Steamroller has several Christmas albums. I think my favorite is this one b0000005mt01_scthumbzzz_.jpg because I like their Stille Nacht (Silent Night). This is a nice one to listen to while reading or relaxing in front of a fire.

I also enjoy Harry Connick Jr.’s Christmas albums. And Kenny G. And Stephen Curtis Chapman. Frank Sinatra also has a good Christmas album.

b000i0qk7401_scthumbzzz_v36353900_.jpg And James Taylor (right there at the top of the list as one of my favorite all-time singers) put out a Christmas album last year with Hallmark. I just happened to see it on the counter when I was checking out at a Hallmark shop. It’s really a great album. I especially like his duet Baby, It’s Cold Outside with Natalie Cole. And I believe this is the only Christmas album I have that includes my favorite Christmas song, In The Bleak Midwinter (which, by the way, is based on a poem by Christina Rossetti).

Those are my favorite Christmas albums. I’d love to hear more of yours. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Family, holidays, movies/books/music

3 responses to “Christmas Albums

  1. I love the album Starbucks sold last year: “Baby It’s Cold Outside.” It’s more of a jazzy Christmas album, and very wonderful to listen to. 2 years ago we picked up the WOW Christmas album and enjoy that one as well as one that Rob got for free from a guy who ran a little coffee shop in Eugene where Rob’s men’s Bible study met. The man’s son and a friend made the album–it has such a great sound.

    Could I listen to one of your Mannheim Steamroller CDs sometime? I haven’t had the privilege of listening to them since high school–my music teacher LOVED them and they rubbed off on me too. 🙂 At one point in my life, I could play one of their pieces on my clarinet.

  2. Brian Alexander

    I have Aaaalvin! it’s the coolest. I’ve listened to it almost everyyear. I’m gonna be 18 on the 10th of december and I still enjoy this cd.

    -Brian

  3. Thanks for the comments.

    Crystal- sure. I’ll try to remember to bring it next week.

    Brian – you never outgrow the Chipmunks. 🙂 Happy early birthday.

Leave a Reply

