Treasure Chest

At the Extraordinary Women conference, Jill Briscoe shared a story that I have to share with you.

Last year, Jill and her husband Stuart traveled to a closed country to secretly minister to some pastors and their wives. They spent a week there. Stuart taught the pastors in one attic while Jill taught their wives across town in another attic. They slept on blankets on the floor at night and rolled up their beds each morning so they could sit on the floor to study the Bible.

The first day there, the pastor’s wives asked Jill what she would teach them that week. When Jill answered “Philippians,” the women became so excited because they had never been taught from Philippians before. Let that sink in. These pastor’s wives had never been taught from Philippians before.

Midway through the week, it became obvious that Stuart and Jill would have to wrap up teaching early for safety reasons. Jill was not nearly finished teaching Philippians and she would have to leave the next morning. One young woman came to Jill and pleaded, “Hurry, Jill, hurry. You must finish this book. We have to finish Philippians. We’ve never learned from it before. Hurry. Hurry.”

As Jill whispered that woman’s pleas, my heart ached for her. Hurry. Hurry. What hunger to learn God’s Word! What a sense of urgency to uncover the truths of scripture! How convicting!

Jill looked out at us and said, “Ladies, while this woman begs to be taught from God’s Word, we are sitting on a treasure chest!” Oh how true! Here I am in the United States with so many translations of the Bible and several concordances and atlases and lexicons and Bible study upon Bible study available to me. Just the other day, I received the lastest Christian Book Distributer catalog in the mail. Wow! I certainly have no excuse for not studying God’s Word!

And here I sit on this treasure chest while some young pastor’s wife in another part of the world risks her life so she can learn about Philippians for the first time. And she begs for more. Here in America, people rattle their keys if church isn’t finished up by noon on Sunday. But in some country, women will sleep on a hard floor and sit for hours and hours, hidden in an attic, desperately wanting to get through a whole book of the Bible in one week.

Hurry. Hurry. Do I feel that urgency to learn as much about God and His Word as I can?

Hurry. Hurry. Do I feel that urgency to share God’s Word with people around the world who have never heard of Jesus?

Hurry. Hurry. Am I just sitting on my treaure chest hoarding it all for myself?

Hurry. Hurry. Time is running out.

5 Comments

Filed under Christianity, missions

5 responses to “Treasure Chest

  1. I am so glad that you remember what the speakers said at the conference. You’re helping me to glean even more from the conference! The main thing from Jill Briscoe that I remember is when she was talking about prayer and about the woman who referred to God as “Father dear.” That particular phrase has been resonating within me for the last month and has been dramatically impacting the way I approach the Father in prayer.

  2. Oh, Crystal! I hope to blog about that topic soon. 🙂 You’ll have to be sure and comment then too. That has truly impacted the way I pray too. I don’t think I will ever pray the same way again.
    Thanks for commenting about that. I’m so glad you’re my friend.

  3. Jennifer, I’m so glad (and extremely thankful!) that you’re my friend too. Just thought you should know that.

  4. Anonymous

    Awww, you two are sooo sweeeet.

Leave a Reply

