Sharing The Gospel

I know you all are expecting another post on my kids’ bodily functions, and I hate to disappoint; but I am thinking today about the Christian’s responsibility to spread the Gospel.

The Apostle Paul writes in 1 Corinthians 4:1 — “Let a man so consider us, as servants of Christ and stewards of the mysteries of God.” Paul refers to himself as a steward of the mysteries of God. And he passes those mysteries on to us in his writings. So that makes us stewards of the mysteries of God.

What kind of a steward am I?

Later in 1 Corinthians, Paul writes “For though I am free from all men, I have made myself a servant to all, that I might win the more . . . I have become all things to all men, that I might by all means save some. Now this I do for the gospel’s sake, that I may be partaker of it with you.” (9:19-23)

Am I really trying to serve people, to overlook my own rights and my own right to be right, so that I can win them to Christ?

In 2 Corinthians, Paul wrote “For the love of Christ compels us, because we judge thus that if One died for all, then all died; and He died for all, that those who live should live no longer for themselves, but for Him who died for them and rose again.” (5:14-15)

Am I living for myself? Or am I living a life that is compelled by the love of Christ?

If I am a trustworthy steward of the mysteries of God, and if I am really serving people, and if I am living my life compelled by the love of Christ, then I will not keep the Gospel message to myself. I will share Christ’s love and the good news of His death, burial, and resurrection with everyone I can.

Paul Washer of HeartCry Missionary Society puts it like this on his website:

“There are billions of individuals in the world who have still not heard the Gospel of Jesus Christ. If this does not move us to sorrow and compassion, then the sincerity of our Christian confession should be in question. Billions of people who have yet to hear the Gospel of Jesus Christ! Should we not be disturbed? Should this dreadful reality not make us willing, even eager to do all within our means to make Christ known among the nations? Should it not captivate us and keep us from less important endeavors? Should it not blind us to our own selfish desires? Should it not possess us and drive us to duty? The answer to all these questions thunders forth from the heart of our Lord and His dear apostle:

‘And seeing the multitudes, He felt compassion for them, because they were distressed and downcast, like sheep without a shepherd. Then He said to his disciples, ‘The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few. Therefore, beseech the Lord of the harvest to send out workers into His harvest field.’ ‘
Matthew 9:36-38, NASB

‘I am telling the truth in Christ, I am not lying, my conscience bearing me witness in the Holy Spirit, I have great sorrow and unceasing grief in my heart. For I could wish that I myself were cursed, separated from Christ for the sake of my brethren, my kindsman according to the flesh, who are Israelites.’
Romans 9:1-4a, NASB

We are called, commissioned, and commanded to lay down our lives so that the Gospel of Jesus Christ might be preached to all nations and to every creature under heaven. Second only to loving God, this is to be our magnificent obsession, the flame to which we are drawn and eventually consumed. There is no nobler task and no greater reason for a man to give away his life than for the Glory of God revealed in the proclamation of the Gospel to the world.”

I couldn’t agree more! And I couldn’t have said it any better!

Do I have a passion for telling others about Christ?

Today, I see most Christians falling into one of two camps: 1. those who look and act just like the world and 2. those who are attempting to completely separate themselves from the world.

Those in the first camp often claim Christians are supposed to be witnesses to those around us; therefore, we must interact with and rub elbows with unsaved people. This is true, but so many of these Christians are not being effective witnesses. These Christians fit in so easily with the world around them that they become comfortable. These believers dress like the world, participate in all the world’s activities, talk like the world, have the same goals as the world, and often don’t bring up the Gospel with people. I will admit to you that it’s very tempting to fit into this category. It’s comfortable. You can have a lot of friends and a nice house and cool cars and your kids don’t have to feel weird or different because they fit in and are popular. You can live the American Dream and go to church on Sundays and Bible Study during the week and pray for the lost and give money to missionaries, and your life isn’t really all that disrupted.

I know God uses Christians in nice houses and with cool cars to do His work; and I know God may lead Christians to be involved in community activities for His glory. But honestly, I know my own heart. It is very easy to get comfortable and to not live radically for Christ. It’s easy to go to the soccer field and visit with friends and cheer on the kids and never share Christ. If God has called us to this lifestyle, then we ought to be living it fully for His glory, compelled by the love of Christ, and sharing the Gospel with everyone we possibly can.

Those in the second camp are a growing population. These Christians really focus on the notion that we are to be a separate people. These Christians homeschool, maybe even home-church, dress in a way that is notably different from the world, and live a purposefully separate life. The tendency I notice is for these Christians to associate mainly with like-minded believers. Most often they speak of protecting and sheltering their children and not wanting to be unequally yoked. In today’s society, this is also very tempting. We all want to protect our children from the sinful influences around us, and it is easier to live as a Christian if I do it hiding out in my own home and with the support of people who think exactly like I do. But these Christians are not effectively sharing the Gospel either. These Christians may look holy and act holy, but the people who need to be influenced by their holiness will never have the opportunity because these Christians won’t stoop to associate with them.

I know God can also use Christians who look and act very un-worldly; I know God leads some Christians to live on farms, have a large family, raise their own food, grind their own wheat, homeschool their children, dress like the Amish, and throw out their TV. But these Christians are not exempt from sharing the heart of God, which is to tell the world of His love and the sacrifice of His Son. If God has called us to this lifestyle, then we ought to be living it fully for His glory, compelled by the love of Christ, and sharing the Gospel with everyone we possibly can.

Jesus’ heart, His main concern, His priority, is displayed in His last words before He ascended: “you shall be witnesses to Me in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.” Christ wants His followers, those who have received the indwelling of His Holy Spirit (which is ALL believers), to be His witnesses all over the earth.

Is His priority MY priority? Is His main concern, MY main concern? I want to be a faithful steward of this Truth He has entrusted with me. To be a faithful steward, I should be sharing the Truth so that His investment in me can be multiplied.

I have received the command; I have received the provision; will I obey? Do I love Him and others? Or do I love only myself?

1 Comment

Filed under Christianity, missions

One response to “Sharing The Gospel

  1. Thank you for sharing this. These are questions I ask myself…I need to keep praying that God will renew a boldness, His boldness, in me (and to not live in the shadow of fear) that I might openly share the Gospel with others. I want God’s glory to radiate from my life. Thank you again. I really needed this extra “nudge.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

