My Prince Thinks I’m Beautiful; He Delights In Me

Some things said last weekend at the MOPS Convention stirred my mind to thinking about belonging and acceptance. And then I began reading Angela Thomas’ book Do You Think I’m Beautiful?. So my mind is swirling with thoughts about how we all long to be accepted, to belong, to be desired. We women especially want someone to think we’re beautiful. We want someone to delight in us.

As followers of Christ and messengers of His Good News, perhaps our strongest message is “Jesus loves you! He thinks you’re beautiful! He loves you; He wants you; He’s enamored by you! And He’d rather die than live without you!”

Perhaps our most powerful message to the world is “We know someone who longs to dance over you with joy overflowing into song. We know someone who delights in you.”

Maybe the best news I can offer to lonely, empty people is, “I have met the Lover of my soul, my One, True Love who will never leave me. I have met the One who is enthralled with my beauty and who spent years wooing and pursuing me. I have met my Prince Charming, the One who rescued me. I have met my Knight in Shining Armor, the One who would do anything to win me back. I have met the Love of my life, the One who will hold onto me forever and ever. I have found my happily ever after, and I know a Prince who loves you that same way. Would you like me to introduce you?”

Maybe we make it all so much like religion, so much like a process, a formula. Maybe we make it sound so cold and impersonal. Maybe we focus too much on church-y words. Maybe we have forgotten to speak to people’s hearts. Maybe it really is as simple as “You are a damsel in distress. You are Snow White, frozen in a spell of sin. Your Prince Charming wants to kiss you and wake you up. Your Prince died for you, then He came back to life, and now He is proposing to you. He rescued you and now He wants to marry you. Will you accept His proposal?”

as a bridegroom rejoices over his bride,
so will your God rejoice over you. — Isaiah 62:5

The LORD your God is with you,
he is mighty to save.
He will take great delight in you,
he will quiet you with his love,
he will rejoice over you with singing.” — Zephaniah 3:17

The King is enthralled by your beauty. –Psalm 45:11

5 Comments

Filed under Angela Thomas, beauty, Bible, Christ, fairy tales, faith, gospel, grace, joy, loneliness

5 responses to “My Prince Thinks I’m Beautiful; He Delights In Me

  1. Patrick

    Sweetie, I am nothing compared to Christ , but I freely say that I’m enthralled by your beauty and I have found the desires of my heart in you. I look forward to serving our King together, hand-in-hand.

  2. I stumbled on your site through BooMama. I was at convention too! I love how you put this idea into words. Some people really struggle with the idea of God as their Lover. It is really an emotional intimacy beyond compare!

    PS: I have six kiddos too!

  3. Cool, Jenn. And I’m Jenn with two n’s too.

    I hope you come back often. Now I’ll cruise on over to your blog.

  4. Martha

    I think even in the church we forget this. We continue to be busy trying to make sure we are doing enough to make God happy, not doing things that would drive Him away, that we forget that we have a relationship with GOD through Jesus Christ. Jesus completely made atonement (at one-ment) for our sin and God’s wrath has been turned aside.

    Satan continues to try, as he did with Eve and as he’s been doing throughout history, to cast doubt upon God’s immense life-laying-down-love and all-wise protection. I must make every effort in my own mind and heart to fight the lie that God doesn’t love me, that He’s not giving me what is best for me. The verses you included are such good ones to memorize!

  5. Pingback: Our Prince « Mistylb’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

